Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Make sure to read reviews before making! I made the mistake of not doing so and while I was making it, I thought the mixture seemed dry (many added 1/4 cup milk) and after it came out of the oven, I thought the cake could be sweeter (most doubled the sugar!) I also liked the idea of dragging a knife through the mixture so that the butter and topping goes to the bottom in some spots. It was good but it needs the above adjustments and I'm looking forward to making it again (the RIGHT way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Great recipe! Very moist cake. I read through the reviews, and decide to do the following: -increase the granulated sugar by about 70% -drizzle the melted butter not on top of the batter, but on the topping once it was placed on top of the batter. -added 2tbsp granulated sugar and doubled the cinnamon in the topping I am someone who ALWAYS reduces the sugar, usually by about 50%, but I nearly doubled the sugar for this coffee cake- the amount in the actual recipe is strangely low. I would definitely recommend increasing the sugar by at least 50%, double it if you like your cake sweet! Also, next time I make this I will definitely double the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Thanks to all the excellent review(ers), this was a terrific recipe!!! Definitely needed that extra 1/4 c milk (I used almond milk for all the milk) I added almost double the sugar in the cake (almost 3/4 c) and poured the melted butter on top of the strusle topping. Using a butter knifre to swirl it in. I don't recommend salt at all it you are using salted butter. 20 minutes was perfect in my oven. I used white whole wheat flour for great fiber without compromising taste! (you gotta check that out. : ) Thank you for the recipe, it will be used many many times to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey
Home Town: Ocoee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Wow. This turned out great! I subbed in 1/4c whole wheat flour to make it a bit "healthier". I may even try a little more next time. Anyway, I also took the reviewers suggestions and did 2/3c of sugar instead of 6 T. It was good. I wasn't sure if those reviewers did 2/3c + 6 T. If they did, that's A LOT of sugar. I might cut back to 1/2c next time. Topping? A lot of reviewers said to double the topping. I did maybe 3/4 c brown sugar and didn't use all of it. I'll just do the 1/2c in the recipe next time. Put topping on first, then drizzled the butter. This is so yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I doubled this recipe and put it in a 13x9 inch pan so I baked it for an extra 10 minutes. I added an extra 1/2 c milk and forgot to add the melted butter on the top. I was making this for a breakfast party of all men and had last minute notice so I needed a recipe that was easy and quick (plus required no trips to the store). I haven't had a chance to taste it but it looks and smells wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Very, very good. I doubled the recipe, hoping for leftovers for breakfast. My kids have ensured there will be no coffeecake for breakfast, they gobbled the stuff so quickly. I did add about 1/4 cup extra milk, slipped about 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour in with the white, and mixed the melted butter right in with the brown sugar/cinnamon topping before sprinkling it on top. This is easy, uses readily available ingredients, bakes in only 15 or so minutes, and tastes just like coffee cake should. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by char0789
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
So yummy! I made the recipe with 2 tweaks and it came out so good. One thing I did change was I added a little bit more brown sugar & cinnamon because, come on, who doesn't LOVE a little extra coffee cake topping? And the other was, I didn't realize I was out of shortening and used Blue Bonnet instead. Came out AWESOME! Very moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmington, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was wonderful! Moist and tasty, and most of all EASY! I made the recipe with no alterations, except for adding whole pecans with the topping. I wouldn't change anything else about this recipe - and that is so rare for me! Thanks for this one. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was okay, but there was nothing special about it. I think I'd rather use a different recipe than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Quick, easy and delicious! Please note that the batter will be very thick , even after doubling the amount of milk, as others suggested. I substituted butter for the shortening, and doubled the amount of vanilla. After topping batter with brown sugar mixture I poured an additional 3 T of melted butter over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States