Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Great recipe, easy to modify. I used almond milk, a smidge more vanilla. I doubled the sugar , I dont know how it will taste without the extra sugar because it is perfect doubled. I made the recipe with whole milk once but prefer almond. I also add 2tbs butter to the batter in addition to the butter on the top.Overall really good...made it three times in the last month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I made it with water instead of milk and added 1/4 cup more. I also doubled the sugar and added a mashed bannana and half a bag of creamed coconut....soooooo goood!!!! YUM! :D Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is a great coffee cake recipe. I make it up for my kids in the morning and often they take an extra piece to school with them. I did double the sugar and at least add 1/4 cup of milk extra to the batter. I tend to add milk until the batter is the right thickness but this is from experience. I did double the vanilla too and added craisins and slivered almonds but I had these on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. This wasn't even CAKE. It was like a soggy biscuit with brown sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Yes, it is quick, but it came out pretty dry for me. The batter wouldn't spread very well into the pan so the whole cake came out uneven. Tasted like coffee cake & with less mess than the normal crumbles on top, but still not a recipe i'll use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I used 1/4 c. of butter instead, 1/3 c. of milk and 1/4 c. of vanilla honey mead. To cut back on some of the fat I didn't drizzle the melted butter on top. Also, the crumb mixture makes way to much so either split it up and put some on the bottom of your pan and some on the top of the cake or make half of the mixture indicated in the recipe. Overall this is a good, modifiable and quick recipe. I had to cook a little longer since I used more liquid. Will probably add walnuts next time for some added flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Good but very buttery tasting. Didn't use streusel topping, thank goodness. Can't imagine adding any more butter. Still, delicious. Would make again with less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I followed the suggestion of others to increase both the milk and sugar. I also added walnuts to the toppings and dragged it through the batter with a knife. It turned out awesome. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Sooooo tonight was the start of a warm cozy snow filled wkend with my husband an kids,,,, WIth that being said I thought this recipe for warm coffee cake along side a lg glass of milk would be great.!!!! That indeed it was. However I made a few small tweeks.... Starting with ... I baked it at 350,,, Hellooooo am I the only one here that noticed 425 was way to high....... I also took the advice from some other reviews the additonal 1/4 cup milk, 1/2 cup sugar. Also A little trick of my own was I baked my cake fully then when done I sprinkled my topping over the top once removed from oven,next I melted butter and trickled over the topping. This created A pretty an sweet candy crunch topping... This recipe gets 4 stars from me. Quick and easy..!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Wow!!! This is a very tasty coffee cake! I couldn't find my trusty old coffee cake recipe so i thought I'd try this one and I'm glad I did. I made exact except doubling the recipe and adding scant teaspoon backing soda and buttermilk instead of milk. Also I mixed butter with cinnamon sugar mixture and sprinkled on top. It baked up very quickly so be sure to watch time or it may burn like I almost did! Thankfully it turned out beautifully!!! Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States