Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
so. i made this EXACTLY how it is written. I failed to read reviews but.. im so terribly sorry but something went really wrong. maybe it was the baking powder or the shortening but it was really salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This comes out fine as written - my 14-yr-old made it following the directions and ignoring the reviews that say change this or that - just be aware that the batter doesn't pour - it's more of a sticky dough - but it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Very Good, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeymaterial

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Great recipe, easy to modify. I used almond milk, a smidge more vanilla. I doubled the sugar , I dont know how it will taste without the extra sugar because it is perfect doubled. I made the recipe with whole milk once but prefer almond. I also add 2tbs butter to the batter in addition to the butter on the top.Overall really good...made it three times in the last month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I made it with water instead of milk and added 1/4 cup more. I also doubled the sugar and added a mashed bannana and half a bag of creamed coconut....soooooo goood!!!! YUM! :D Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is a great coffee cake recipe. I make it up for my kids in the morning and often they take an extra piece to school with them. I did double the sugar and at least add 1/4 cup of milk extra to the batter. I tend to add milk until the batter is the right thickness but this is from experience. I did double the vanilla too and added craisins and slivered almonds but I had these on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. This wasn't even CAKE. It was like a soggy biscuit with brown sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Yes, it is quick, but it came out pretty dry for me. The batter wouldn't spread very well into the pan so the whole cake came out uneven. Tasted like coffee cake & with less mess than the normal crumbles on top, but still not a recipe i'll use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I used 1/4 c. of butter instead, 1/3 c. of milk and 1/4 c. of vanilla honey mead. To cut back on some of the fat I didn't drizzle the melted butter on top. Also, the crumb mixture makes way to much so either split it up and put some on the bottom of your pan and some on the top of the cake or make half of the mixture indicated in the recipe. Overall this is a good, modifiable and quick recipe. I had to cook a little longer since I used more liquid. Will probably add walnuts next time for some added flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Good but very buttery tasting. Didn't use streusel topping, thank goodness. Can't imagine adding any more butter. Still, delicious. Would make again with less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States