Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I've made this twice now and it is perfect. Do not add any sugar -- it is quite sweet already. I can't imagine what it would taste like with more sugar. Also, it is light and fluffy with just the right amount of substance for a coffee cake. If you find it dry or heavy, I suggest beating the egg really well (as per the instructions). Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
the original recipe is the best...I might add some walnuts to the topping , but that is the only change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Really nice basic, fast coffee cake. I used whole wheat flour, real butter, and coconut sugar in the dough, sucanat for the topping (and just made a crumble rather than melt the butter, extra cinnamon of course!) The dough wasn't sweet, but this made a LOT of topping, too much topping, really so I didn't even notice the dough. Next time I'd sweeten the dough slightly more but reduce the topping (and I like a lot of topping). What I like best about this is it went from mixing bowl to oven to table in about thirty minutes, and with my passel o' hungry men waiting, speed is of the essence! Oh, last thing, this really did take a lot of extra milk. I'd guess I went with closer to a cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Made as directed - turned out delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Came out pretty good. I took some advice from other reviewers and added a bit more milk and sugar, not much though. Cake was still a little dry but good. If I make it again I'll add more flavor by mixing additional sugar and cinnamon into the batter itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
For years I've been searching for a recipe that would produce flaky coffee cake, not cakey cake. I tried all kinds of complicated recipes but was disappointed time and again. This recipe was perfect. We're trying to cut back on sugar so I used only 4T sugar in the batter (figuring the topping would make up for the less sweet cake). I also poured the butter over the topping mixture (I don't like the topping to be dry). It turned out perfect - sweet, flaky but moist. The whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Very good with a the adjustments suggested by B Spradley: Double the sugar. Add another 1/4 cup of milk. Mix melted butter with topping mix and drag through batter. I also sprinkled in a handful of walnuts. Delicious! Definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxStar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I made a few modifications to this recipe because without them I thought it tasted like a box cake mix , so I added 2 tbsp rum, doubled the vanilla, added 6 tblsp brown sugar and a little more milk and an additional egg, fantastic and great for last minute company because it is so fast to make!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
The perfect QUICK coffee cake!!! Very tasty and moist. I added a bit of cinnamon to the batter, doubled the recipe and the cake was perfect. Be generous with you streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rick

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Really good! Just added about 1/4 more milk. Doubled recipe. Yummy & moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States