Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I'm confused by this recipe, where is the coffee in this cake? It may be a South African thing but our coffee cake actually tastes like coffee. Also had issues with step 4 & 5, how can you pour the batter into the pan if it's already there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I came home from work and suddenly I was hit with urge to bake something. Well, I was hoping for a quick recipe that didn't require alot of exotic ingredients and I think this recipe was just what I needed. I already had everything I needed, it doesn't take a long time and the reviews from others were very helpful.I took the advice of adding extra vanilla (no such thing as too much as far as I'm concerned)and extra milk, but I think I put too much because it was a bit moister than I had intended. Will make again and add only 1/4 cup extra milk. Try it when in a pinch, I think you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
i tried it and it was really good...yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
As almost everyone else here, I added an extra 2/3 cup sugar. I also doubled the amount of topping and halved the flour ratio for the topping. That said, this recipe was top-notch! Definitely make it again. Super easy and super-fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Made this recipe as written except used butter instead of shortening and used 2/3 cup milk. For the topping,I used about 1.5 tablespoons flour and 1 teaspoon cinnamon. I also added about 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. Baked it in my toaster oven and it came out great. Cake was not too sweet and will use it often for cakes with rich frosting/icing. Next time will try chocolate chips and coconut in the topping to give it a german chocolate twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I agree that this is a good basic coffee cake recipe. I made the recipe as is. A true coffee cake is not overly sweet so the recommended sugar is a good amount. I believe I will use this as a base recipe for many variations to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twoyorkiesmom
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
So simple and easy!! Taste great too!! Did add a little more milk as reviewers recommended and mixed the melted butter with the brown sugar, flour and cinnamon topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twoyorkiesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I've made this twice now and it is perfect. Do not add any sugar -- it is quite sweet already. I can't imagine what it would taste like with more sugar. Also, it is light and fluffy with just the right amount of substance for a coffee cake. If you find it dry or heavy, I suggest beating the egg really well (as per the instructions). Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
the original recipe is the best...I might add some walnuts to the topping , but that is the only change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Really nice basic, fast coffee cake. I used whole wheat flour, real butter, and coconut sugar in the dough, sucanat for the topping (and just made a crumble rather than melt the butter, extra cinnamon of course!) The dough wasn't sweet, but this made a LOT of topping, too much topping, really so I didn't even notice the dough. Next time I'd sweeten the dough slightly more but reduce the topping (and I like a lot of topping). What I like best about this is it went from mixing bowl to oven to table in about thirty minutes, and with my passel o' hungry men waiting, speed is of the essence! Oh, last thing, this really did take a lot of extra milk. I'd guess I went with closer to a cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States