Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great Recipe!! Easy to follow and ready quickly. Only problem I had with it was that it was a little dry, but that is easily fixed by adding a dash more milk. I also added a pinch of cinnamon to the batter to carry the flavor. Very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milo, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
A great, simple coffee cake. I made it exactly as listed with the exception of substituting margarine for shortening and it was moist and delicious. It's true the cake itself isn't super-sweet but the topping makes up for that. I think the key to it coming out well is following the instructions as listed and not over-mixing. This is a great cake to throw together on a whim without having to buy any special ingredients. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Very good taste, quick & easy. I also doubled sugar as people suggested, and mixed the melted butter with the topping. Yummy, and I found that unlike most baked goods, it was actually better once cooled. I got nervous that when I poured the batter in it looked like a very thin layer, but it rises when cooked, and turns out substantial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Very easy and loved that everthing was common pantry items. On top of that it tasted great! Just changed the sugar to 2/3 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have to say this is a 5 star with the part of the Streusel Coffee Cake by Jim Blamker from this site. I used the topping and icing of that recipe. I kind of combined the 2. I did follow the other reviewers on this and do 1/3 cup white sugar, I used butter not shortening, I added pumpkin pie spice a little ground ginger and extra cinnamon. I feel this would have been a complete bore with out it. There would not have been enough flavor to this cake. If you do take my advice use this combo all mixed up in a little bowl: 1C chopped pecans 1C packed Brown Sugar 1/2 t cinnamon and 6 T butter softened I put this on top of this recipe and ran my knife up and down the pan to get some of this mixture throughout the cake. I would also check the cake at about 40 minutes mine was a little too brown on the bottom for me but still awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuVBellBoyzX4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This recipe is tastes great and is super easy. I made only two modifications, added a splash more milk and also doubled the topping and raked it through the cake. This cake has a perfect texture so delecate and not too sweet, which is a wonderful contrast to the sweet crunchy top. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is truly a great recipe! Thank You Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRahndavu
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Great easy recipe made with everything I keep on hand. I did read the reviews first so the only changes I made were to add enough sugar to equal a half cup and added about 1/4 cup more milk. Thanks for sharing, a perfect Sunday morning sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Followed the recipe to a "T" and the kids loved it! I didn't have time to make any modifications. I think I'll put the butter with the brown sugar mix next time though. And I didn't get to even taste it, so I cannot tell you if it was dry or not. It was a very quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
A little dry, but my husband loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States