Quick Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This was great! I took other reviewers' advice, and added an additional 1/4 cup milk and doubled the sugar. I also added one apple, cut up. We like the apple, but I think for next time I'll back off on the sugar a bit (closer to the original recipe), and add walnuts with the apple. A great recipe when you're in a hurry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Truly quick and pretty good! Subbed butter for shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I really like this recipe. Very good. Classic coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Unlike some others, I didn't read the reviews before I decided to make this coffee cake Christmas morning. It has a great rating and I had all the ingredients on hand. Well, I woke up early to start. The batter seemed terribly thick and more like cookie dough, but I spread it in the pan as best I could. The kids were up shortly thereafter and we waited nearly 40 minutes for this cake to bake. We added 5 minute intervals to the 15 minute cook time, checking with a toothpick. At one point I thought it was done and it was just the topping sticking to the toothpick...nope! Raw in the middle. When it was finally finished I had a very dense cake. It was edible and the kids were famished, but we had to break it apart for my 2 year old twins, it was too tough for them to bite off on their own. There was one piece left over and within hours it was hard as a rock. I think, even with suggestions of others, I won't try this recipe again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERBREAD_CA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great Recipe!! Easy to follow and ready quickly. Only problem I had with it was that it was a little dry, but that is easily fixed by adding a dash more milk. I also added a pinch of cinnamon to the batter to carry the flavor. Very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milo, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
A great, simple coffee cake. I made it exactly as listed with the exception of substituting margarine for shortening and it was moist and delicious. It's true the cake itself isn't super-sweet but the topping makes up for that. I think the key to it coming out well is following the instructions as listed and not over-mixing. This is a great cake to throw together on a whim without having to buy any special ingredients. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Very good taste, quick & easy. I also doubled sugar as people suggested, and mixed the melted butter with the topping. Yummy, and I found that unlike most baked goods, it was actually better once cooled. I got nervous that when I poured the batter in it looked like a very thin layer, but it rises when cooked, and turns out substantial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Very easy and loved that everthing was common pantry items. On top of that it tasted great! Just changed the sugar to 2/3 of a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have to say this is a 5 star with the part of the Streusel Coffee Cake by Jim Blamker from this site. I used the topping and icing of that recipe. I kind of combined the 2. I did follow the other reviewers on this and do 1/3 cup white sugar, I used butter not shortening, I added pumpkin pie spice a little ground ginger and extra cinnamon. I feel this would have been a complete bore with out it. There would not have been enough flavor to this cake. If you do take my advice use this combo all mixed up in a little bowl: 1C chopped pecans 1C packed Brown Sugar 1/2 t cinnamon and 6 T butter softened I put this on top of this recipe and ran my knife up and down the pan to get some of this mixture throughout the cake. I would also check the cake at about 40 minutes mine was a little too brown on the bottom for me but still awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuVBellBoyzX4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This recipe is tastes great and is super easy. I made only two modifications, added a splash more milk and also doubled the topping and raked it through the cake. This cake has a perfect texture so delecate and not too sweet, which is a wonderful contrast to the sweet crunchy top. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States