Quick Classic Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Blown out of the water by how quality this easy soup tastes! I got a craving for gazpacho, but I didn't want to invest the time in preparing it from fresh tomatoes. This is an excellent adaptation of the classic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
My husband and I really enjoyed this gazpacho. Refreshing and delicious. We wanted more of a soup consistency than tomato chunks so I pureed both cans of chopped tomatoes and it was thick and creamy. I substituted balsamic vinegar for the sherry wine vinegar (gave it some sweetness), used 1/4 tsp Cayenne pepper instead of Jalapenos (try 1/8 tsp first then work your way up), squeezed in some fresh lime juice and added some sliced avocado on top of the soup once it was in the bowl and it made a great garnish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made this almost exactly the way it is posted and it is delicious!! I just omitted the jalapenos because I don't like them. I love that the recipe calls for canned tomatoes since I can't grow anything to save my life. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Very tasty for quick gazpacho. Could probably use more spice but it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
We had this tonight and like most reviewers, I changed it up a bit. Use a high quality canned tomato is key to this recipe. I made half a batch and used lime juice because we're not fans of sherry vinegar. Since I added lime juice, I used cilantro as the fresh herb. After sitting in the refrigerator for 5 hours, I thought it needed something and added about half a teaspoon of ground cumin. After sitting for another couple of hours, we had it with a bit of diced avocado along with lemon pepper salmon II from this site. The flavors paired very well together and we'll definitely have again. Great base recipe and very easy to change for your family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Made this soup in the morning following the recipe exactly and choosing cilantro as the green herb. I tasted it and thought it was just ok. By 5 pm when it was 90 degrees outside I tasted it again and WOW what a difference. The flavors were wonderful. Truly the best gazpacho I ever made- better than using fresh tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Excellent! Flavor is still great even if all ingredients get chopped in a blender. I used half of a large white onion, and substituted dried parsley (1 tsp dry = 1 tbsp fresh), with great results. I think a green onion or two would work well instead of the white. Without the jalapeno pepper, some Tabasco or Red Hot would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I had a lot of fresh ripe tomatoes. So I smoked the tomatoes onions and peppers, this was delicious, and we ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Wonderful recipe. My dad has fallen in love with this and I have to make it almost every week (sometimes twice a week when it's really hot). I've made some adjustments as I've been making it, using Diced Rotels with Green Chiles instead of jalepeno and lime juice in place of sherry vinegar (thanks to DebLeg for that suggestion!) and 6-8 chopped green onions instead of white/yellow. I also removed the water and instead of processing the tomatoes into puree, I add 1-2 drinking glasses of V-8 Spicy Hot for the liquid base... saves on preparation time and clean-up (just have to wash cutting board and knife).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Too much raw garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States