Quick Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
I was in a really big hurry. I had my son open all the cans, omitted the margarine and celery, used dehydrated onions and fat-free half and half. It was still delicious. I could have passed it off as "I've been cooking over the hot stove all day..."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
This was really good. You really could not tell that it was so quick. I added a few more potatoes but you didnt have too. I just like lots. I did put bacon in mine. I also added clam juice. I would recommend this to all of you .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I was looking for a good easy clam chowder for Christmas eve and this is it. I did add an extra potato, but otherwise I followed the directions exactly. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
This is a great recipe when you are in a hurry for a quick fix. Everyone thinks it's from scratch. I'm not telling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This soup is wonderful and so easy to make. The flavors are just right. I used a small size frozen shrimp that I thawed out and took out the excess water from the shrimp. I also put in some extra shrimp. It is now my favorite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
It was a very good soup but I only gave it three stars because I'm not sure how to cut down on the salt. Otherwise it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffanie Luster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Arena
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This is the GREATEST clam chowder ever! It is so easy, and no one will ever guess how little work you put into it. Make sure the celery is well cooked and soft, so it isn't crunch in the chowder. Oddly enough, I love clam chowder but hate clams, so I omitted the can of minced clams (though they were still in the canned chowder) and added a double amount of smoked salmon, which was just perfect. I also added a tbs of finely chopped rosemary. It was fabulous, and so filling that the large pot lasted for several meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Arena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This was quick and easy on a cold rainy day.. I used milk instead of half and half and it turned out just fine... we served it in bread bowls and it was yummy!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYMCKILLIP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pacific City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I agree that this recipe is so easy but so delicious! I made it last night along with grilled cheese. I cook a lot and usually dishes much more complicated than this; however I enjoy a little break from time to time. This chowder tastes like much more than opening cans! My husband thought it should be thicker but I myself liked the thinner consistancy. Our son wouldn't even try it but our daughter loved it and asked for seconds! I used equal amounts of whole milk and half and half and that worked well. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I liked this recipe, but I went ahead and fried potatoes in a strip of bacon and a clove of garlic before adding them with twice the clam and leaving only half the clam juice in. I only added half and half until it reached a pleasant consistancy for my taste. Overall a good base recip and very, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stonington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States