Quick Chocolate Chip Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
wonderfully easy and so good. we found it a little too sweet with cream cheese frosting but agree it would be wonderful warm from the oven with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Super easy and delicious. I made it as cupcakes and used whole wheat flour and broken up pieces of ghirardelli intense dark chocolate. I didn't add the nuts, coconut, or chocolate on top. It was really moist and sweet enough already so I didn't use frosting. My 2 year old loves them =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This cake was excellent! We added Cool Whip for frosting.. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly. I checked it at 35 minutes but it wasn't quite done, so I baked it a few minutes longer. I didn't use icing, but served it slightly warmed with vanilla ice cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I omitted the white sugar entirely, added some extra chocolate chips and used the coconut (toasted) on top of the cake instead of in the batter. True to its name, this cake was surprisingly quick to make. Since I halved the recipe, my bake time was 23 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My new favorite cake. Perfect chewy texture with the burst of chocolate and subtle cinnamon flavor. I topped this with a cream cheese frosting with mini chocolate chips mixed in, and it was absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This was very different. The recipe said the cake was spicy so I only used half the cinnamon, because I have a sensitive stomach. I added the optional nut (chopped pecans). This tasted like a mix of an oatmeal cookies, a chocolate chip cookie, and a blonde brownie. It is both soft and chewy, like a cake, cookie, and a brownie. It tastes good but, I think the name is a little misleading in taste and texture. It did bake up nicely. However, I think I will be sharing this with some kids down the street. As this is a little too many sweets mixed together for me, with the 2 cups of sugar and full 12oz bag of chocolate chips it took to make it. I am sure though those kids will enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I thought this was great - something different then the norm with a lot of different textures and tastes. Our family loved it! We did have to bake it about 7 min longer then listed. Wouldn't change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I was looking for a quick cake and this one is pretty quick; just tried a sample fresh out of the oven and it is nice and moist but I'm not sure I care for the cinnamon taste, might leave it out if I make it again. I am a chocoholic so might try adding some cocoa next time. I used pecans instead of walnuts and added some wheat germ and ground flax to make it healthier (about 1/4 cup and only 3/4 cup coconut)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nobel, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States