Quick Chinese-Style Vermicelli (Rice Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This is a great Asian-style noodle dish. I used to work at a Chinese Restaurant and the simplicity of this dish closely mirrors that style of cooking. If you're looking for a noodle recipe with a heavy or zesty sauce, French or Italian-style dishes are a better choice. That said.....I LOVE this dish! I used vermicelli instead of the rice noodles and doubled the garlic, soy sauce, and chili sauce. A very quick and simple dish. Thanks for posting Serena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
yum!! I doubled the garlic, used sesame seed oil instead of vegetable oil, and used red curry paste instead of chili sauce. I also put cilantro on top. with these small changes it was an outstanding and VERY quick and easy recipe which I will definitely be making again. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
I liked this recipe, even though I kinda changed it up. After boiling the noodles. I heated the oil and garlic, then added some leftover chicken, I put in a few tsp of teriyaki sauce, and the added the noodles, stir and added some more teriyaki sauce and served. My daughter and I liked it. I wanted to add the chili sauce but I didnt have any. So I use a dash of pepper, which really didnt do anything so I added a little soy sauce. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
great base recipe! after sauteeing the garlic i added sliced carrot, broccoli and mushrooms, then flash fried the noodles, adding peanuts for garnish- wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bijoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I have to agree with those who rated this as bland. As written, it is *very* bland; it literally had next to no flavor. I added a tablespoon of sesame oil and a teaspoon of fresh ginger, minced. In the end, it wasn't bad, but it still lacked some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
We tried this recipe tonight when guests came over and it was a hit !!! I did like others had suggested and doubled the garlic, chili sauce and soy sauce. I also used sesame oil for the regular oil and added shredded carrots and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pommerenk Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This recipe was real easy & quick. My family really enjoyed it and I will make this again. I did over cook the noodle, so I will keep a closer eye on them next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
I didn't quite follow the recipe. I added chicken and doubled the chili sauce and soy sauce. I also didn't have green onions, so I used a small white onion, and cooked it with the garlic. My husband and son loved it, but I found it a little bland. Next time, I'll add some vegetables and maybe a chile pepper. But, it's a good basic recipe, if you don't like alot of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I thought this was good but suggest omitting the chili sauce (or at least minimizing it) and replacing with ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This is a fine recipe for the "quick" category. I used Vietnamese chili garlic sauce and chopped scallions instead of green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States