Quick Chinese-Style Vermicelli (Rice Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This is a great Asian-style noodle dish. I used to work at a Chinese Restaurant and the simplicity of this dish closely mirrors that style of cooking. If you're looking for a noodle recipe with a heavy or zesty sauce, French or Italian-style dishes are a better choice. That said.....I LOVE this dish! I used vermicelli instead of the rice noodles and doubled the garlic, soy sauce, and chili sauce. A very quick and simple dish. Thanks for posting Serena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
yum!! I doubled the garlic, used sesame seed oil instead of vegetable oil, and used red curry paste instead of chili sauce. I also put cilantro on top. with these small changes it was an outstanding and VERY quick and easy recipe which I will definitely be making again. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
I liked this recipe, even though I kinda changed it up. After boiling the noodles. I heated the oil and garlic, then added some leftover chicken, I put in a few tsp of teriyaki sauce, and the added the noodles, stir and added some more teriyaki sauce and served. My daughter and I liked it. I wanted to add the chili sauce but I didnt have any. So I use a dash of pepper, which really didnt do anything so I added a little soy sauce. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
great base recipe! after sauteeing the garlic i added sliced carrot, broccoli and mushrooms, then flash fried the noodles, adding peanuts for garnish- wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bijoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I have to agree with those who rated this as bland. As written, it is *very* bland; it literally had next to no flavor. I added a tablespoon of sesame oil and a teaspoon of fresh ginger, minced. In the end, it wasn't bad, but it still lacked some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
We tried this recipe tonight when guests came over and it was a hit !!! I did like others had suggested and doubled the garlic, chili sauce and soy sauce. I also used sesame oil for the regular oil and added shredded carrots and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pommerenk Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This recipe was real easy & quick. My family really enjoyed it and I will make this again. I did over cook the noodle, so I will keep a closer eye on them next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
I didn't quite follow the recipe. I added chicken and doubled the chili sauce and soy sauce. I also didn't have green onions, so I used a small white onion, and cooked it with the garlic. My husband and son loved it, but I found it a little bland. Next time, I'll add some vegetables and maybe a chile pepper. But, it's a good basic recipe, if you don't like alot of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I thought this was good but suggest omitting the chili sauce (or at least minimizing it) and replacing with ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Waddell Wilkinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This is a fine recipe for the "quick" category. I used Vietnamese chili garlic sauce and chopped scallions instead of green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States