Quick Chinese-Style Vermicelli (Rice Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by JINGEE
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
A good basic recipe. I modified mine drastically. Instead of boiling the vermicelli, I soaked them in lukewarm water for about 15 minutes (or until soft) while I chopped up Taiwanese cabbage, carrots and sweet peas for a vegetarian dish. Dried shiitake mushroom would also complement the dish, but I didn't have any on hand. In addition to vegetable oil, I added a dash of sesame oil to fry the garlic. As well, I cooked the vegetable with oyster sauce, sweet soy sauce and light soy sauce before adding the vermicelli for a quick toss. Sorry if I butchered your original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I skipped the chili sauce because I had none, and it was srill delicious. Is the chili sauce the kind that looks like catsup or is it a special Chinese ingredient?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I totally enjoyed it! We added more chile sauce. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Good quick and easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROMMICHIGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
It was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Maybe I didn't have a wok big enough, but the noodles didn't turn out like they should have. I have to add more oil in order to coat all of the noodles. This, of course, made everything greasy. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
We tried this recipe tonight when guests came over and it was a hit !!! I did like others had suggested and doubled the garlic, chili sauce and soy sauce. I also used sesame oil for the regular oil and added shredded carrots and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pommerenk Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I initially made a mistake because my Melissa's Chinese Noodles was 16 oz not 8 oz, and they were wheat flour with egg not rice! Like other reviewers, I added ginger and sesame oil, plus some veges I had on hand- slivered onion, button mushrooms and a yellow squash cleverly grated to increase veg consumption. For the chili I used Siracha and some Szechwan peppercorns and tried to minimize the oil while still being able to keep everything from sticking. I topped the finished dish with minced cilantro, green onion and peanuts. I thought it was just right, but my daughter's lips were tingling from the heavy dose of chilies. This is fast and easy to modify to your taste and what is in your crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Everyone liked these for our take-out night. It's very easy and my picky eater loved eating with chopsticks. I added garlic powder instead of fresh garlic and left out green onions(because of picky eater). I didn't measure the sauce ingredients just added to pan and it turned out perfect. I served Chip Chicken Lollipops also and it turned out to be a fun dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
yum!! I doubled the garlic, used sesame seed oil instead of vegetable oil, and used red curry paste instead of chili sauce. I also put cilantro on top. with these small changes it was an outstanding and VERY quick and easy recipe which I will definitely be making again. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States