Quick Chinese-Style Vermicelli (Rice Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was really good with some modifications. I added ginger, sesame oil, and LOTS of veggies (broccoli, carrots, red bell pepper, cabbage). You definitely need to at least double the sauce as people said in earlier reviews. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I added some minced ginger to the sauce, used about 1/2 sesame oil and 1/2 vegetable oil and doubled the garlic to give it a bit more flavor. I also doubled the sauce and used 1/2 to saute diced chicken breasts, broccoli and carrots and then the other 1/2 for the noodles. Pan fried the noodles until crispy and then topped with the chicken and veggies. This is a great dish that is not bland as some have noted, but rather a light one. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
LOVE this recipe!!! It is so quick and easy, and it is delicious!! Taking the suggestions of others, I doubled the garlic, chile sauce, and soy sauce. I omitted the green peppers. I was looking for an easy noodle dish with Asian flare, and this is it!! My advice is to mix the chile sauce, soy sauce, and salt/pepper with the noodles in a large mixing bowl. Even with my largest skillet, there wasn't enough room. Also be prepared for this recipe to yield a HUGE amount of noodles. I had leftovers for days, but they were still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JINGEE
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
A good basic recipe. I modified mine drastically. Instead of boiling the vermicelli, I soaked them in lukewarm water for about 15 minutes (or until soft) while I chopped up Taiwanese cabbage, carrots and sweet peas for a vegetarian dish. Dried shiitake mushroom would also complement the dish, but I didn't have any on hand. In addition to vegetable oil, I added a dash of sesame oil to fry the garlic. As well, I cooked the vegetable with oyster sauce, sweet soy sauce and light soy sauce before adding the vermicelli for a quick toss. Sorry if I butchered your original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I skipped the chili sauce because I had none, and it was srill delicious. Is the chili sauce the kind that looks like catsup or is it a special Chinese ingredient?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I totally enjoyed it! We added more chile sauce. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Good quick and easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROMMICHIGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
It was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Maybe I didn't have a wok big enough, but the noodles didn't turn out like they should have. I have to add more oil in order to coat all of the noodles. This, of course, made everything greasy. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
We tried this recipe tonight when guests came over and it was a hit !!! I did like others had suggested and doubled the garlic, chili sauce and soy sauce. I also used sesame oil for the regular oil and added shredded carrots and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pommerenk Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States