Quick Chinese-Style Vermicelli (Rice Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
These are quite good. I put extra garlic and soy sauce and sprinkled on red pepper flakes and salt at the end. I'll fry in sesame oil and add ginger next time. It's good to have a quick, tasty rice noodle recipe because I have celiac and wheat allergy and can't eat regular noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Delicious! of course I make my own recipe and add couple of more ingredients... like carrots, broccoli, cilantro, meat... I used pork meat then lightly salted and fry with chopped garlic (use just a little bit of oil because pork releases its own oil...) I mixed it with a sauce made with onion, tomato, soy sauce, chilli sauce & oyster sauce. Also I stir fry the rice noodle. I added a little bit of water to soft them. Mixed all the meat, sauce and noodle ...add at the end the veggies to not over cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ?Carol?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Loved it! Adults and children. Did only add the chili sauce to the adults, as mine was very spicy, but we loved it added in or without. I also added stirfry frozen veggies. Awesome & so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Although it is quick and easy there is little flavour. I changed the vegetable oil to seasame, added more soy, chili sauce and seasame seeds. It still was flavourless. Needs to be spiced up. Next time I will add ginger and more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
this recipe is grat i added chicken to it for some extra protein!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livvi
Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
It was very good. I added shrimp cut into pieces, sliced carrots, celery and onion, and left off the green onion. I also doubled the sauce like some people said. It's a lot of changes, but it's a good base. I also used sesame oil in addition to the vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
The 3 star rating is for the recipe as is, however, it does have 5 star potential. As written, I find this fairly bland, but it IS a great spring board. I tried the sesame oil recommendation from another user, and this is tasty if you don't add too many other flavors. I definitely use more chili sauce (sriracha) and more soy, and if using vegetable oil, I add lemon pepper for extra flavor. Turns out well, although I've yet to perfect it. Adding Chinese BBQ pork pieces make it VERY yummy. I've seen other recipes that call for shredded cabbage and carrot, which I might add next. Would love to hear other recommendations, as well as a good recipe for Pan Cit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I have to rate this a three star based on the original recipe. I really had to Dr. this one up to make it five star. I made to go with slippery shrimp (VERY GOOD) from this site. I added sesame oil and had to almost “fry” to get the right consistency. I also had to add a lot of soy sauce cus it was really bland. I also added a bag of stir fry veggies as I was making it a side dish. Loved the heat that was in it and went quite well with the spicy sweet shrimp I made with it. If it was not for me doubling the sauce of the slippery shrimp, so I could mix with this dish, I would never make it again…it really helped…All in all, thanks for the recipe as it was my first try with rice noodles..\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Bland but good. Will make again but as suggested by another user, I'll probably double the sauce. And perhaps try a few alternatives. All in all, a good basic recipe with potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLCKANGL00

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
These were easy and yummy. I didn't boil my noodles but soaked as directed on the package. I would also double the sauce to get enough flavor in the noodles. I added some ginger paste and some cilantro to the sauce. I put some red pepper and mushrooms that I needed to use up in them also. I would make these again to use up veggies out of the fridge it is a great alternative to the "clean out the fridge" fried rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States