Quick Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This chili is wonderful and so easy to make! I substituted the ranch style beans for black beans (it was all I had) and it was amazing! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Well I just popped on here to find something quick and easy for my girlfriend and myself and boy what a treat! I loved some of the changes other reviewers made, so I stole their ideas! (heheh) -I used the regular sized can of diced tomatoes and green chilies instead of the 4oz. can of green chilies. -I only used half an onion. (My girlfriend forced me not to. But there was so much flavor from everything else, you could probably put 2 whole onions in and not notice!) -I used one can of mixed chili beans, and one can of San Antonio Style beans. (Saw the ranch style beans, but the brands looked kind of shady...) I looked at the ingriedents and the San Antonio Style beans were basically the same as the ranch style beans, and apparently you could just add whatever kind of beans you want really. (From the lady who said she didn't use ranch style beans at all!) -Then I really shook things up! Some might flinch, but hear me out... IT WAS AWESOME! Instead of ground beef I used freshly made Chorizo from a high-end grocery store. Now normal Chorizo comes from a tube and is basically left-over hotdog meat blasted with a million mexican spices... this was regular ground pork blasted with spices, so it was delicious. If I made it again, I would used a half pound of chorizo and a whole pound of ground beef. The Chorizo added SO much flavor, I'll probably have to make it again without the chorizo just to see which way I like it prepared best. I loved this meal, and my girlfriend who
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pseudolife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
We love trying new chili recipes and this was a big hit at our house. I used Emeril's Southwest for the "Cajun" seasoning. I made two slight changes: I used a 10oz can of diced chilies w/tomato and I simmered for about 45min. to thicken. It was a nice change from my usual chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
This is the most reliable chili. I leave out the ranch style beans & use 2 cans of kidney beans instead. I also use 1 minced clove of fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. Sometimes I add a tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder as well. It's even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSHERI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was great! It was very spicy and tasty. I didn't have any Cajun seasoning, so I just used some salt and grill seasoning:) Also used 2 cans of Kidney beans instead of Ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is the best recipe I've gotten from this site so far (and I like a lot). My husband who is a very picky eater, says this is the best chili he has ever had. The only modification I made is that I didn't add the beans (I don't like them) and I let it simmer for at least an hour to get rid of the excess liquid. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I make this alot. We only use it as a base recipe. We can't use cumin as i am allergic and we cut the spices down by about half. Also we cut out the kidney beans and use chopped green pepper in place of chiles. I also added a bunch of veggies like corn, peas and cooked diced potatoes (added at the very end) and let it simmer 2 hours. Soooooo good. Even my kids who have severe digestive disorders(which is why low spices) enjoyed it =) Plus they got alot of veggies and didn't even notice. Also good over rice or pasta instead of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkeylovescookies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
All around great recipe. It's very simple to make and it tastes amazing. I think the best thing about this recipe, is that it leaves a lot of room for improvisation. I was missing the chopped chile peppers so I just threw in some jalapenos instead. I also enjoy my chili a little thicker, so I didn;t add the two cups of water. Everything worked out just great, and I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This really is easy, tasty chili!!! My whole family loved it. I used kidney beans instead of ranch-style as well. I also added a 15oz can of diced tomatoes and, per another reviewer's advice, a tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder and a teaspoon of cinnamon. With the additions, this is a fantastic five-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Made this wonderful easy dish the other night. Doubled the recipe so I would have leftovers which were even better. Added Kidney, white, and pinto beans. Used the diced tomatoes with green chilies and fresh garlic. Family loved it. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States