Quick Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I make this alot. We only use it as a base recipe. We can't use cumin as i am allergic and we cut the spices down by about half. Also we cut out the kidney beans and use chopped green pepper in place of chiles. I also added a bunch of veggies like corn, peas and cooked diced potatoes (added at the very end) and let it simmer 2 hours. Soooooo good. Even my kids who have severe digestive disorders(which is why low spices) enjoyed it =) Plus they got alot of veggies and didn't even notice. Also good over rice or pasta instead of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkeylovescookies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
4 1/2 stars. This is how red chili should taste. I used a can of dark kidney beans and a can of light kidney beans instead of the ranch-style. I also added a small can of corn. I served it with cheddar cheese and sour cream and it was awesome. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
great recipe, i let it simmer for about two hours though to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This chili is wonderful and so easy to make! I substituted the ranch style beans for black beans (it was all I had) and it was amazing! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This was fantastic! I only used about 1 1/2 tbsp. of chili powder, as my husband isn't a huge fan of super spicy food. I used a can of kidney beans and a can of black beans. And I didn't use the entire onion, I only used enough to season the hamburger with. Instead of using tomato sauce I used chopped tomatoes and it was delicious! Next time I think I'll try using sauce but I really do like my chili to turn out thinner like it did with the chopped tomatoes. Thanks for the great recipe, I will definetely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was great! It was very spicy and tasty. I didn't have any Cajun seasoning, so I just used some salt and grill seasoning:) Also used 2 cans of Kidney beans instead of Ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Well I just popped on here to find something quick and easy for my girlfriend and myself and boy what a treat! I loved some of the changes other reviewers made, so I stole their ideas! (heheh) -I used the regular sized can of diced tomatoes and green chilies instead of the 4oz. can of green chilies. -I only used half an onion. (My girlfriend forced me not to. But there was so much flavor from everything else, you could probably put 2 whole onions in and not notice!) -I used one can of mixed chili beans, and one can of San Antonio Style beans. (Saw the ranch style beans, but the brands looked kind of shady...) I looked at the ingriedents and the San Antonio Style beans were basically the same as the ranch style beans, and apparently you could just add whatever kind of beans you want really. (From the lady who said she didn't use ranch style beans at all!) -Then I really shook things up! Some might flinch, but hear me out... IT WAS AWESOME! Instead of ground beef I used freshly made Chorizo from a high-end grocery store. Now normal Chorizo comes from a tube and is basically left-over hotdog meat blasted with a million mexican spices... this was regular ground pork blasted with spices, so it was delicious. If I made it again, I would used a half pound of chorizo and a whole pound of ground beef. The Chorizo added SO much flavor, I'll probably have to make it again without the chorizo just to see which way I like it prepared best. I loved this meal, and my girlfriend who
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pseudolife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is the best recipe I've gotten from this site so far (and I like a lot). My husband who is a very picky eater, says this is the best chili he has ever had. The only modification I made is that I didn't add the beans (I don't like them) and I let it simmer for at least an hour to get rid of the excess liquid. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
So easy to make and its very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
We love trying new chili recipes and this was a big hit at our house. I used Emeril's Southwest for the "Cajun" seasoning. I made two slight changes: I used a 10oz can of diced chilies w/tomato and I simmered for about 45min. to thicken. It was a nice change from my usual chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States