Quick Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Not really a traditional chili. I did make a few minor changes. First, beef doesn't really sit well with me so I substituted chicken breast. Then, because I was out of beans I used some noodles that I had in the cabinet. Also, I'm not big on chili powder or hot sauce, so I skipped those. I was out of tomatoes so I used some chicken stock instead. Onions give me bad breath so I used celery and carrots. I didn't have any cumin but I did have the salt and pepper. It wasn't what I think of as a traditional Texas style chili, but still, very good. I gave it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This is a great chili! We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I really loved this recipe! Was in need of something quick to throw together for dinner and was pleasantly surprised by this. Really easy to make, I just adjusted the amounts to accommodate 4 servings instead of 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Didn't change anything. That being said, I would add for next time: Green Peppers and Celery. I cooked as is, for 100 of my fellow officers. Yes, almost 23 Qts x2 worth of Chili. Totally gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Fantastic recipe! I wanted it thicker, so I let it simmer for much longer than 30 minutes, and it turned out perfect. I only used 1.5 tbsp chili powder, substituted a watermelon wheat beer for the water and sriracha for the hot pepper sauce. I also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon. This made an awesome not-too-spicy chili, easily spiced up more per bowl with some extra hot sauce of your choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe sever times for our church outreach and it has always had good reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
We thought this chili was very good. I like thicker chili and my kids don't like too spicy, this was perfect with hot cornbread too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This recipe was fantastic. The TBL of hot sauce wasn't quite enough so added more (overdid it a bit so added a little more sugar). Next time wll try the beef broth in place of the water as suggested by some members. This was great paired with the Mexican cornbread recipe. Yummers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This recipe was such a great starter recipe thank you! I don't make chili often because I really just, don't know how. I'm not a chili person, but my husband is. He liked this one a lot! I took other reviewers' advice and used one pound ground beef and one pound ground pork. I added a bit less salt than the recipe said as well. I also made mine beanless because I hate beans. I put a little wine in it that I had in the fridge, plopped a little sour cream on top, sprinkled it with shredded cheese and served with homemade corn bread and oyster crackers. It was very very good! My husband said he was so full he was sleepy hahaha! I used all of the canned ingredients in this recipe which really is not something I'd normally do, so I can't wait to try this recipe with completely fresh ingredients. I bet it'll be absolutely amazing! Thanks again for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This recipe is not bad at all...for a quick chili this is what I will be using from now on. I used reduced sodium beans and did not drain them. Perfect amount of saltiness...didn't need to add any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States