Quick Chicken with Asparagus and Provolone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
We really enjoyed this recipe! I also used fresh asparagus and based on another review, tenderized the chicken with a mallet before dredging and breading. I did make one other sub, which was to use 1/2 the broth and about 1/2 cup of white wine. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrod, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I needed a recipe quickly b/c I had asparagus that had been in the fridge too long. So I stumbled upon this recipe. Lemme tell you, my wife and I loved it. The asparagus was still crisp and not soggy. The provolone added that nice touch of flavor to the chicken. Took me less time then the recipe called for. Only complaint was that I like my cheese only partially melted, and this recipe has the provolone completely melting, to the point it almost disappears. Next time, I'll add the provolone just removing from the heat, or right before serving. Wonderful recipe nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
I have been making a version of this recipe for years. I cook the breasts in the oven first with no breading, just seasoning (salt, pepper, garlic powder). Then after 30 minutes, I put on sliced tomatoes, then provolone cheese. Back in the oven until cheese melts. The tomato gives it a great taste. My boyfriend still loves the asparagus better, but the rest of family likes the tomato version best. No sauce but it doesn't need it. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Fantastic! I went out on a limb and made this for company without ever trying it first. It was easy, delicious and looks impressive on the plate. I needed only one egg to dredge the breasts in. And, like the other reviewers, I used much less broth, probably only 1/2 cup. I also used fresh asparagus. No need to saute or steam beforehand, it steamed perfectly in the 15 min. stated in the recipe. Also I waited till the very end and then laid the cheese on top. It melted quickly in a minute or two. I can't wait to make this again! It is so good and super fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This was outstanding and very quick and easy to prepare. Made it for the first time last night and everyone loved it! I only varied from the recipe on two items. I pounded the chicken breasts and I placed the cheese on top at the very end of cooking. Both ideas came from previous comments. After eating it, although delicious as it was, next time I make this I will use less broth and put a layer of cheese on the breasts before putting the asparagus on top. Then I will add another layer of cheese on top of the asparagus at the end of the cooking time to just barely melt. The only comment from my family was that they would have liked cheese melted on the chicken. The way I did it, all the cheese ended up over the asparagus with none on the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
I'm giving this five stars because of the ease of making it AND the way it turned out. I had 1 1/2 pounds of chicken and one bunch of fresh asparagus that I used along with fat-free, reduced sodium chicken broth and the cheese. My family liked it and commented on how tender it was. I've had a dish similar to this at a restaurant where they also had portabello mushroom on top of the chicken and it was very close in taste and quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I added a bit of parmesan cheese to the breadcrumbs - yum! Seems like 1/2 can of chix broth would be plenty for next time. Very easy and elegant - will be a great company dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
This is a tremendously tastey dish. I highly recommend giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
If we could rate in halves I'd rate it a 4 1/2. It was our first time eating asparagus so we have to get used to it. I think that was the only thing keeping it from being rated a 5. I did add some sour cream to the sauce just to thicken it up a little. I loved the layer of bread crumbs! Next time I make this I think I'm going to try using green beans instead because it has a little less flavor than asparagus. I was also really suprised at how quick and easy it was. All in all, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This really is a quick and tasty meal. One thing I would say is when buying the provolone cheese always ask for the Piccante (sharp)type as the Dolce (mild)doesn't really have the flavour or the kick to add to this very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gnome

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States