Quick Chicken a la King Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This recipe is very quick and easy. Great for beginners and those of us who don't like cooking. I followed the recipe and it turned out very good for a mid week dinner. I used boil-in-the-bag-rice for convenience. It always comes out just right I only recommend more seasoning. It was a little bland. I just added salt and pepper. It did the trick. I had a second helping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Added sauteed garlic, onion and celery, used 1/2 chicken, 1/2 ham, and cream of chicken & mushroom soup and broccoli. Very good and fast! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Not the most flavorful dish, but it is a nice quick and easy meal for those tired afternoons. Spice it up with plenty of your favorite seasonsings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Good if you are looking for a quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Vickery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This one is a big hit with my picky eaters. I sautee cubed chicken with some garlic pepper adding some onion at the end and the flavour is great! Thank you for a quick and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Amazing recipe!!! Chicken a la King was my favorite as a child, and this, plus a few changes, brought back all those happy memories! I added onion, garlic, and chili powder. Chopped onion, minced garlic, both red and green bell pepper. And due to allergies I used Cream of Chicken soup. Tasted great! Have made and will make many more times to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I made this on a day where I didn't really have much on hand, but didn't feel like grocery shopping. I used an entire orange pepper and an entire green bell pepper chopped up. I had boneless chicken thighs on hand, so I used those too. I sauteed minced garlic in butter and then added a chopped onion and the peppers into the pan. Once they were tender, I poured them into a bowl and then added the chicken into the pan to let that cook. While the chicken cooked, I threw some instant rice into the microwave and added the soup and milk to the green pepper mix. Next time I would use about 1/3 of a cup of milk instead of the half cup. Once the chicken cooked, I added it into the pepper/soup mix and everything was nice and warm since it was all just cooked. I would definitely recommend adding additional spices into the soup mixture. I added a lot of garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper. This is a simple quick meal that I would make if I had the ingredients on hand and wasn't in the mood to make an elaborate dinner. I would have given it four stars for the way I made it, but the recipe as is should be a 3 star rating. If you follow my suggestions you can have a four star recipe using very little ingredients, prep time, and not a lot of dishes for clean up. I would only recommend this recipe if you are crunched for time, don't have a lot of ingredients in your kitchen, or have peppers on hand you want to use up...otherwise this is just an okay meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This is one of the easiest, quickest meals that I have ever prepared. Getting home late from a swim meet last night, I had some already cooked chicken leftover in the fridge. Adding in some peppers, soup and milk was so fast and easy. All of my kids really liked this one, and my husband and I also ate our share. Probably not the best chicken a la king we've had, but for the effort and time required, it was perfect. I had a little green and yellow pepper in the fridge, so I used both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
The chicken stayed really tender which I thought was great. It is an easy dish which is something I look for. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Super quick and easy! Also, very family friendly. I used leftover turkey instead of chicken. I made sure the chopped peppers were big enough for the picky eaters (my husband) to take out. I served this over biscuits. My husband had leftovers over mashed potatoes. Great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States