Quick Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Quick & tasty - a hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wingham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
We couldn't believe how much we love this stew! To save time and dishes, instead of serving with mashed potatoes, rice or pasta I cubed 3 small potatoes and added them along with the other ingredients. I also omitted the butter and used spray olive oil to cut down on the fat grams. We will certainly enjoy this one pot meal time and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
We thought this was just O.K. The diced tomato base was a bit much for my kids. I had to add a cup of broth to thin it to a "stew" consistency. It was quick and I might make it again in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I thought this stew was great. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bell, Florida, USA
Living In: Newberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was very tasty, although I wouldn't quite call it "stew". It was more like soap loaded up with great ingredients. This would go well over pasta, served up with some crusty Italian bread. The taste was wonderful. I *did* make a some changes; I used four cloves of garlic instead of two; sliced up a stalk of celery and used two carrots (not too thinly sliced, more like 1/2" or so) instead of one. Another reason this didn't get a full five stars was prep/cook time. It is one of my biggest peeves when checking out recipes. IT took me longer, from start to finish, than the author's total time ~ about 45 minutes. Not a big deal, but when you want to have dinner on the table at a certain time, it's kind of frustrating. I will make this again and serve it over pasta next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
It wasn't a bad recipe but i wouldnt call it a stew. The tomato base of this dish was way too much for my liking, and it took away the essence of the dish, which should be the chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Excellent stew!!!! The only thing I did different was use Thai Chili Sauce instead of red pepper flakes. Amazing!!!! This will be a regular dish in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I wish I would have added some mushrooms and used fewer carrots, but you really can add whatever veggies you want. We ate it over rice, which was perfect in my opinion. QUICK AND EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Everyone in my family loved this and went back for seconds, quite a rarity due the picky tendencies. I put the zucchini in last and cooked just long enough to maintain the shape. My family, does not like overcooked zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was a fast and easy recipe with not a lot of clean up. My family enjoyed it very much! I changed it a little. I put frozen carrots and corn. 1 can of diced tomatoes with onions and garlic already in it. 1 can of regular diced tomatoes although I only used half the tomatoes from the second jar but all of the juice. I used garlic powder and cayenne pepper for seasoning. I let it simmer for about 15 min. and served over rice. Turned out very good. Thanks this will be used again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States