Quick Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was fantastic 'stew'. I had to add 2 cups of water to make it a stew though. Also, I used a can of Rotel (mild) instead of plain diced tomatoes which gave it more punch. I didn't measure out any of the seasonings, I never do. I always guesstimate. It took longer than 30 minutes! It took about an hour total. I cooked the chicken boobs first in a bit of olive oil & smothered them with chicken seasoning, then I threw in the entire chopped onion & the garlic. From there, I dumped it all into a stew pot & added the rest of the stuff. I used fresh ground pepper & I let it all simmer together for 35 minutes. I served it over brown rice. Yummy. I'll be making this again! We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by m3kw9
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This is good for healthy eating. I used 2 medium tomatos instead of 2 can's and half a red bell pepper. The final product didn't have as much juice as I thought. I added half a table spoon of sea salt. The taste was pretty good, but a bit "blend", good for the occasion dish where you don't want the deep saltiness of eating out. The veggie taste definitely makes up for the blendness. Other stuff added were 4 bay leaves. I'm sure if having another 1/4 teaspoon salt would have made it better without being unhealthy. I'm a slow preparer(40 min), it took me a whole hour from start to finish including pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m3kw9
Photo by ebrandeis
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Very tasty. I used 50% thigh meat and 50% breast meat because I like dark meat. I left out the butter since I think the olive oil gives the stew/soup a nice rich flavor on its own. Finally, I only used one can of tomatoes and thinned it out with chicken broth. This is a very mild dish, but if you love chicken and fresh vegetables, it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrandeis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I thought this recipe was a bit boring and lacking flavor. It could be canned tomatoes I used (my choice is a bit limited where I am living), but I would make some serious revisions if I was going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
very flavorful, but a little too much tomato for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by numbr_9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Excellent and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I could have probably left this recipe alone as it was (except for needing some extra liquid because the tomatoes I used didn't have very much juice) and it would have been fine, but I can't seem to bring myself to do that! ;-) Here's what I did: I added chicken broth until I liked the juiciness. I added 1 tsp. of sugar, put in 1 tsp. of salt and 1 extra Tbsp. of butter. I would have added Parmesiano Reggiano instead (and will next time) but I didn't have any, so I added some asiago cheese. Also, I'm a pretty proficient cook, but I don't see how this gets on the table in half an hour unless you're a speed demon or you pre-cut the vegetables and don't cook them very much. This took closer to an hour to get to the table. My boyfriend and I both really enjoyed this with a crusty baguette and I had leftovers with some spiral noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was a fast and easy recipe with not a lot of clean up. My family enjoyed it very much! I changed it a little. I put frozen carrots and corn. 1 can of diced tomatoes with onions and garlic already in it. 1 can of regular diced tomatoes although I only used half the tomatoes from the second jar but all of the juice. I used garlic powder and cayenne pepper for seasoning. I let it simmer for about 15 min. and served over rice. Turned out very good. Thanks this will be used again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Everyone in my family loved this and went back for seconds, quite a rarity due the picky tendencies. I put the zucchini in last and cooked just long enough to maintain the shape. My family, does not like overcooked zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I wish I would have added some mushrooms and used fewer carrots, but you really can add whatever veggies you want. We ate it over rice, which was perfect in my opinion. QUICK AND EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States