Quick Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
It was pretty good! It smelled great while cooking. It was pretty tomato-y, but that's how it's supposed to be, so it was good. We had it over rice. Will make again. I didn't have red pepper flakes this time, so I'll have to try it again with those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by church.lauren

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Loved this but had to leave out the red pepper flakes because I served it to my kids. I did use preseasoned diced tomatoes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee:o)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Very good soup/stew. For a more soup-like texture, add chicken stock. I didn't use zucchini, used celery instead. Didn't have basil, so I used Italian Seasoning and I "marinated" the chicken with some chicken seasoning and a little bit of lemon juice to soften the meat before I cooked it. The chicken "marinated" overnight. I also used thigh meat instead of breasts, but it still tasted really great. Just the right amount of heat. It warms you on the way down, but not too spicy. Served over rice with some toasted bread to sop up the extra sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clifton Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
1 dish meal...great flavor and juicy chicken. I used thighs and whatever veggies we had on hand. It did get a little oily and so did not add any additional butter to it. Great with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYGONG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Juicy, Tender and light tasting, not heavy, and so simple to prepare! I used chicken thighs, and 1/2 can of 28 oz tomatoes, which I mashed a tiny bit, cause I didn't have diced tomatoes on hand. I used 3 carrots, 1/2 zuccini and 1/2 large red pepper. I browned the chicken first then added the onion and garlic, cooked for a few minutes before adding the tomatoes, veggies and spices, simmered for about 1/2 hour and served over rice...great chicken recipe!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This is easy, really tasty and very healthy! I added yellow, summer squash for added color and served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Excellant. I simply threw everything in the slow cooker. Marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank-NC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was very good and a real guilt free meal too. So easy and a very tasty and comforting way to make chickem. My husband loves chicken so I am always searching. This was even better the next day too. The butter added ,though not much, really gave the stew a nice consistancy and did add to the flavor. Will be a keeper for sure. I am sure using any type of vegetables would be fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
this was delicious, I did make a few changes. I cut down the tomatoes and added a can of chicken stock as some other reviews suggested. Also, after browning the chicken I removed from the pan and made a rue with the onions and garlic, this made the stew nice and thick. I also added an assortment of bell peppers, mushrooms, cabbage and cilantro and some cumin. The kids and hubby loved it. Will definetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I made several changes, due to personal preference and what I had on hand. It turned out different then the recipe intended, but it was SO good. Instead of cooking the chicken first, I cored and cut up 3 good sized tomatoes and half of a large onion, and let that simmer with a few dashes of olive oil, garlic powder, salt and pepper. As that was cooking I started to get the chicken ready, but when I opened the package, it had a horrible smell, so I threw it out. Luckily I had just bought sweet italian chicken sausage on a whim. It was packaged hot dog style...meaning there was 9 big "weiners" rather then one large one. I minced three of them, covered them and reserved them for later. I diced a medium sized green pepper and threw that in. Then I added just about half a teaspoon of evaporated cane juice, to lessen the acidity of the tomatoes. I let the vegetables simmer with the top on for about an hour. Then I diced about 8 very small yellow potatoes (I forget what they are called but they turn very soft and almost buttery when cooked, and they are very very small) and threw those in. I then put in the reserved sausage. At this point I added some water, as I had taken the top off for a little bit, and I wanted there to be a good amount of broth for the sausage to flavor and the potatoes to absorb. Throughout the cooking time, I added salt, pepper and garlic powder as needed. I ate it over brown rice, and it was amazing! The leftovers were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States