Quick Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
it's a very good standard recipe. i actually never used bought broth of any kind before, but i was surprised, it was quite tasty. i made it for my bf 'cause he got his wisdom teeth pulled and couldn't really chew. i had cabbage so added that in first and let cook for about 20mins. then i put in celery, frozen veggies(carrot/beans/peas/corn mix, so easy) and a handful of pasta. i let it cook for about an hr. everything was overcooked and falling apart, but i did that on purpose so the bf could eat it. i did add maybe 1/3 of water though 'cause the broth got soaked in/evaporated w/ time. very good all in all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malonb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
First let me say I do not like chicken soup - until now. Great recipe. I did make the following changes to fit my taste. Used half low sodium chicken stock and the other half vegetable stock with two bay leaves. Added two stalks of celery. Omitted cilantro and added fresh parsley and basil. At the end, added small shells pasta. My husband and three children ages 7, 6 and 4 loved it. I know I changed the recipe, but thanks for a great base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Very good basic soup. My son had a cold, so this was a nice soup and he really enjoyed it. I also added a potato and fresh parsley instead of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I loved this simple recipe! I didn't have celery salt on hand, so instead of 2 cups of carrots - I used 1 cup chopped carrots and 1 cup chopped celery. I also put it all in the crock pot in the late morning on low, and it was done in perfect time for dinner! I will be making this again =) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Total hit in my house. Easy and warming for a nice cool day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Truly quick, delicious and easy. I make this whether I'm under the weather or on top of the world, but it is a wonderful recipe to keep on hand when you haven't the energy to spend in the kitchen. I sometimes add chopped celery and noodles. Another great variation - I add a dash of cumin, a small can of fire-roasted diced green chilies, and top with a few tortilla chips. Either way, I always serve this soup with lots of fresh chopped cilantro and lime wedges. This recipe is always at the forefront of my recipe binder. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Based on how easy the recipe was, the soup turned out surprisingly nice. It wasn't the best chicken soup I ever had, but I suppose that type of soup takes hours of slaving away in the kitchen. I also used fresh chopped celery instead of celery salt and a boullion cube base. We had some leftover pre-cooked spaghetti noodles from the dinner before which we added in the last 5 minutes and it made a nice addition. We had leftovers the next day, and I actually thought it tasted better the second day, after the flavors had more time to release. The vegetables/chicken/noodles had absorbed some of the soup, so we added a little more boullion base, and it was really delicious the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was a great base recipe for me to use on my first batch of Chicken Noodle Soup ever! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
The only chicken soup recipe I use anymore! I add diced potatoes (with skins) when I add the carrots and onion. Also, when I pull out the chicken to cut it up, I turn up the heat slightly and add organic parsley garlic noodles. I let those cook for approx. 10 minutes, and add the chunked chicken back in for a few minutes before serving. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahschaffer33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This is an excellent starting-point recipe! I ad-libbed a bit by doubling the broth and adding celery, 2 cubed potatoes, and 2 cans of corn along with the carrots it calls for. I wanted a lot of color and healthy stuff for the 3 sick people I made this for! All of them loved it, and said it was delicious, even the ones without much of an appetite. I followed a tip from other reviewers to cook the chicken first, then add the vegetables and finish cooking, that way they don't get too mushy. Very yummy, this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States