Quick Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Although my mom's version still takes the cake, this was quick and easy. I used 1 can reg broth and 1 1/2 cans of low sodium broth, cut up the carrots and added 1 celery stalk, chopped. Also, right before the chicken was cooked through, I added 1/3 cup noodles. By the time I was finished cutting up the chicken, the noodles were done too. The result was a thick soup that was pretty tasty. Sprinkled dry parsley overall. Thanks Deb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I thought this recipe was pretty good. I would definitely add more to it. I added some celery, noodles, and garlic powder and it was really great. But without the additions I think it would have been very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
This was really good and sooo easy to make! I had some leftover roasted chicken that I wanted to use up so I just threw that in instead of the boneless breasts. I also added an extra can of broth, a handful of spinach and about a half a cup of ditalini pasta. My husband thought I had been cooking this all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
This soup is rich like your grandmother used to make. It has large tender chunks of chicken and vegetables enough for anyone. It's great on a cold winter day and cooks in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I always double this recipe. Changes to the double recipe: salt-free chicken stock, three cloves garlic, a few celery leaves (no celery salt), pepper, and more carrots than called for (usually use all in the fridge ... mini carrots and reg chopped carrots). After all is cooked, add left overs from a store-broiled chicken. Salt to taste. (chicken is usually salted, but sometimes needs a bit.) Love the fresh cilantro on top. Make this every time there is left-over chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
For a quick soup, this was awesome. I didn't have much on hand, but wanted to make chicken soup for my sick boyfriend. This did it! It was a very, very helpful start. I ended up using dill weed instead of celery seed (it's only what I had), substituting a teaspoon of onion powder for the chopped, and adding a cup of rotini pasta to the mix after I took out the chicken. I also added a cup of frozen green beans at the end to give it some color. It was amazingly easy, totally hit the spot, and Dan loved it. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
My daughter got sick in school yesterday and I wasn't home...GUILT, GUILT, GUILT. I didn't have my cell with me either; more GUILT. Daddy to the rescue, thank goodness. Anyway, she was finally feeling a little hungry today, so I whipped this soup up for her. It's really pretty good for a quickie and she's definitely enjoying it. Thanks Deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Based on how easy the recipe was, the soup turned out surprisingly nice. It wasn't the best chicken soup I ever had, but I suppose that type of soup takes hours of slaving away in the kitchen. I also used fresh chopped celery instead of celery salt and a boullion cube base. We had some leftover pre-cooked spaghetti noodles from the dinner before which we added in the last 5 minutes and it made a nice addition. We had leftovers the next day, and I actually thought it tasted better the second day, after the flavors had more time to release. The vegetables/chicken/noodles had absorbed some of the soup, so we added a little more boullion base, and it was really delicious the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This was pretty good.. I used celery instead of celery salt. Needs a little something but I'm not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Did not like it. You can tell that it comes from a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States