Quick Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Used this as a jumping off point, but improvised. Used two large (46 oz) cans of broth and cooked for 45 minutes with chopped onion, celery, carrot, and the bones from 3 chicken breast halves (last night's dinner). Made a rich-tasting stock. Removed everything but stock and added sliced carrot, celery, leftover sliced potatoes, leftover chicken, and broken pieces of whole wheat spaghetti. Simmered for ~20 minutes longer. Very tasty with a loaf of Italian bread, and made enough to freeze for a second meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I thought this recipe was pretty good. I would definitely add more to it. I added some celery, noodles, and garlic powder and it was really great. But without the additions I think it would have been very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I recently started on the atkins diet and was looking for low carb recipes. This is a keeper, though I did make a few changes. I used 3 cups water and 3 boullion cubes. Also, I fried a small red onion and a green onion before putting in the water. Before serving I added parsley, cilantro and pepper to taste and I simply loved it. To cut down on more carbs you can add more celery than carrots and you're set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Very good and very easy! I used chopped celery instead of celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
yummy. added extra veggies (more carrots, some frozen peas at the end) and therefore increased liquid by added 1 1/2 C water w/ 1/2 large chicken bouillon cube. used heaping 1/2 tsps. of spices. used costco rotisserie chicken as well. great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This is a very good recipe, particularly because it's so quick. Like a couple other reviewers, I found I needed to add more broth than the recipe suggests. I started cooking with only two cans, and when I realized I was going to be short, I added a pouch of chicken bouillon and 3/4 cup of hot water - this was just fine as a substitute. For the amount of veggies in this recipe, I would suggest closer to 3/3.5 cans of broth. I too used chopped celery instead of celery salt. I also added some cut up spaghetti noodles, which was great, but I suspect also sucked up some moisture - something to consider if you're adding pasta. Delicious as leftovers as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This is a quick and very easy recipe. The soup was very good made us feel good. I used celery instead of celery salt...lot's of carrots (chopped up) and snipped up some scallions, as well. I am also a garlic lover so I used more garlic. Garlic is also very good for colds....so......eat up and get well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Maitland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
This was pretty good.. I used celery instead of celery salt. Needs a little something but I'm not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This is a great recipe for when you want a homemade taste and don't have the time. I also added chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This soup was great when I wasn't feeling well. In less than an hour of being home after a long day at the office, I was able to have a nice hot bowl of homemade chicken noodle soup. The kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States