Quick Chicken And Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Here is THE SECRET to making any crust stick to chicken: 1. Make sure your raw chicken is VERY DRY after you rinse it. Many times, this will do the trick. 2. For extra insurance, after drying, dip in a little bit of flour before dipping in the egg. This will make any crust stick, unless you're boiling the chicken. Don't know why some people don't include it as part of the recipe.... It worked in this recipe, which is really tasty with a fun flavor. We'll be making it again! I'd also suggest using cutlets instead of cutting strips, and eliminating the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I've made this before, as "Bird of Paradise," and made these changes to add a little more flavor: sprinkle dried basil, oregano, and black pepper into the parmesan cheese before coating; add 4 cloves of crushed garlic to wine during the simmer time; and add 10 ounces Baby Bella mushrooms, halved, during the simmer portion. With these changes, I rate it 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
YUM! This was so good! Even my boyfriend loved it and he is very picky. I did make some changes, though. I followed the advice of others and added some bread crumbs and seasoning (dried basil, oregano and salt). I didn't cut chicken into strips, just pounded it out some. I also coated the chicken in flour before dipping in egg and a bread crumb/parm mixture. I fried the chicken first in some veg. oil and then finished baking in a 350 oven for about 25/30 minutes. I made the wine sauce on the stove with two whole cloves in the wine and butter. I also added some flour to thicken the sauce. I used a little more wine too, Pinot Grigio, about 3/4 of a cup and I let it reduce with the garlic and butter. The result was awesome! Very cruchy coating and a great sauce. Served with white rice and corn on the cob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blissfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
The flavor of this dish was great. The cooking method, on the other hand, confused me: why go to all the trouble to bread the chicken and get a crispy crust only to add wine to the pan and make it soggy? I would sautee the chicken using vegetable oil, transfer it to a sheet pan in a 300 degree F oven to keep warm, and then make the wine-butter sauce for its rich flavors. Nice, simple chicken dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
DELICIOUS!! As suggested by a few reviewers, I dried the chicken very well and then dipped it in flour before the egg and it helped everything stick better. I also added just a tiny bit more wine towards the end of cooking time because it cooked away too quickly. This one will make a weekly appearance on our dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
the chicken was great! the only change i made to it was after it was done cooking, i threw it into the broiler for 5 minutes for a crispier outside. very tender and tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Highland Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
very good recipe! My fiance wants me to make this about once a week. The only thing I do different is dip the chicken in flour before dipping in the eggs- it seems to help the coating stick better while frying. Also, I used white sangria wine and it came out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I also make this with the changes listed about the breading, double the wine and add a little half and half or whipping cream to the sauce. It makes a nice change. Sometimes I add some fresh lemon juice. Great recipe with modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
So good & SOOOO EASY! I rarely follow recipes or measure... I simply threw some butter & chopped garlic in the skillet. DrY the chicken well!! (VERY IMPORTANT IF YOU WANT THE PARMESAN TO STICK!) I also added a little bit of Wondra flour to the parmesan for better stick. Worked like a charm! Also-- I used Chenin Blanc which is a bit sweeter than chardonnay... because I had it on hand. I also tossed in some fresh green beans in the last 10 minutes of simmering and IT WAS ALL SOOO GOOD! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2000
This tasted good, but be sure to use a nonstick skillet to brown the chicken. I didn't and most of the yummy coating stuck to the pan. Despite my poor pan choice, it turned out well. I served it with plain ziti and a vegetable side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States