Quick Cheeseburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I love this recipe! Normally I pre-bake a pillsbury pie crust, then brown ground beef, onion and garlic until its no longer pink. I drain add in 1 TBS montreal steak seasoning (salt free), worstershire sauce, black pepper, red pepper flakes and a small dash of salt. I add in 1/2 of a large block of velvetta cheese- cubed, 1 can rotella tomato and mild chilis, 6 dill stackers - diced, 1/4 cup flour, 1/4 milk and cook on the stove top till the cheese melts and it gets all gooey. I fill the pre-baked pie shell and top it with slices of Kraft American Singles, baking for about 10 minutes until the cheese on top melts. It's absolutely amazing! On occasion I will cut the pie crust into circles, put them into a greased muffin tin and pre-bake. I use about 2 TBS of the meat mixture for each "muffin". Instead of baking for 10 minutes I just broil till the cheese slices get brown and bubbly. I've also stuffed the meat mixture into the pie crust and made mini turn-overs - they're great with cocktails! Since the meat mixture is already cooked just follow your pie crust directions for turn overs -- about 6 minutes in a 425 degree oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhiannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I used a pillsbury crust instead of making the pastry. And like other users have said, I also added a can of drained diced tomatoes and used cheddar cheese instead of swiss... There was nothing left. My 2 kids and husband absolutely LOVES this dish. Will definitely be added to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I was alittle uneasy about the pickle juice and I've never put pickles in a pie before but this was really good. No leftovers!! Next time I think I'll use american cheese and mushrooms--it should be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSJONES3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I followed Rhiannon's review(first review if you click the most helpful) to a certain degree. I used a pie crust. Cooked ground beef with onion and garlic. Added fresh tomatoes, 6 dill stackers-chopped, worcheshir(sp?) sauce and Cheddar cheese(1 cup and 1/2) and cooked on stove. Added beef combo to pie crust. Topped with Cheddar cheese. Yummy! I am from the Midwest(St. Louis) and it reminded me of a White Castle hamburger. The dill pickle taste was the key to the White Castle taste. Yum, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
WOW! For a weeknight meal, this was great! Based on mixed reviews, I wasn't expecting much, but after we ate my husband said "You'd better get on that site of yours and tell them it's a good one"! I'm not a big fan of pastry crusts, so I used reduced fat biscuits and unrolled them along the bottom of a 9" pie pan. I then par-baked it for about 9-10 minutes (firm, but not browned). While it was baking, I browned the meat/onion/garlic mixture and followed the rest of the recipe as is (w/less cheese, you don't need a full 2C). I used skim milk, extra lean ground beef, 2% cheese and it was still excellent. DON'T skip the pickle juice, that's what makes it "special". Next time I will try w/baby bella mushrooms and Swiss (oh, I used Cheddar this time because I was too lazy to shred Swiss!). BTW: 2 dill spears diced = 1/3 C. Thanks for a great weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2000
I have been making this recipe for years. Its a family favorite. I know it sounds a little weird, but it really is delicious. Tastes just like a regular hamburger, but a lot more interesting and not nearly as messy. And it doesn't taste anything like those weird 'bisquik' cheeseburger pies. This is the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Yum. This was delicious. Tasted just like a cheesburger. Being a vegetarian, I used Morningstar Farms crumbles and it turned out fantastic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOTIEBOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I really enjoyed this dish. The only major modification that I made was with the crust. I used garlic cresent rolls and instead of tearing them apart I sealed two together so that they make a rectangle. I then put the mixture in the middle and sealed them like a pocket. It was yummy then dipped in ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
An awesome and very versitile recipe. I use ground turker and storebought pie crust. I've added bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, anything you would put on a cheeseburger. Defenitely a family favorite!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
AWESOME! Tastes just like a recipe I got in a kids' cookbook when I was little. Have been searching for a close recipe for years-THANK YOU! My only recommendation would be to stick with the amount of onion you're generally comfortable with, or it can be a little overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeffNie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States