Quick Cheeseburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I loved it! I did change a couple of things after reading the reviews. I did add ketchup and mustard on top of the meat filling before the final cheese topping. I also used cheddar cheese instead of Swiss. I did not care for the crust as much, so next time I will use an already pie crust from the grocery store's refrigerated section. The pickles were yummy and I will probably add more next time, I did not think it overpowered the flavor as some of the other reviews suggested. I have passed this recipe on to several of my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly. It was incredibly salty (and I like salty foods!). The saltiness killed all other flavors. My husband and I forced ourselves to eat one piece each. I threw the rest away the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I think the thick ground beef (used for chili)that I used was to blame for the poor taste of this dish. It was not one of my favorites, but I may try it again with better beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Yummy Filling! I added 1/2 cup ketchup, used sweet pickle juice and 1/2 cup of sweet relish instead of chopped dill pickles. Also used American cheese but will try cheddar next time. Wasn't crazy about the crust--will try ideas suggested in other reviews--perhaps the pizza dough will help make it healthier. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Definitely not a diet food - but delicious just the same. Even my wife, who doesn't care for these casserole type dishes with hamburg, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I made this recipe last night for dinner but modified it a bit after reading the reviews. I used a Pillsbury pie crust (which I pre-baked), added steak seasoning, worstershire sauce, black pepper, red pepper flakes and a can of diced tomatoes. I thought it was pretty good, but I think the pickle flavor was too overpowering. My 15 y/o daughter said it should have been named "pickle pie" and she did not like it at all. next time I will decrease the pickle juice or omit it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I'm a vegetarian, so I used Boca Meatless ground beef instead of real beef...and it turned out great. I also cut the pastry into circles and put them in a muffin tin (the recipe made a dozen easily). I precooked the shells for 7 minutes, and cooked the "beef" for only about 5. I cooked the whole thing for only 7 minutes in the oven, and then another 2 after I put the cheese on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was easy and good, though not exceptional. Instead of making a crust, I used ready-made biscuits (liked the bun like quality as opposed to pie crust). I subbed colby/jack cheese for the swiss, added a can of tomatoes as others suggested, and added some bacon. Served topped with ketchup with fries on the side. Will make again since it was so easy and made for good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
The majority of my family thought this was worth a 4 star rating. My six year old gave it a 5. I think I'll make some changes next time -- omit swiss cheese and substitute cheddar or colby/jack for more flavor (my 10 year old requested this change and I think she's right, swiss is overpowered by the beef mixture). I also think that instead of adding milk and flour, I'll add nacho cheese condensed soup to the beef. I left out the pickle juice and pickles since I can't imagine baked pickles (yuck), but I served them on the side. I subbed in another 1/3 cup of milk for the missing liquid. I also added some oregano, chili powder and cayenne pepper to the meat as it cooked, along with a splash of worcestershire sauce. All in all, I thought this was a nice, solid weeknight entry. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I, like many others, added a can of diced tomatoes, left out the pickles and juice, and substituted cheddar cheese for Swiss. Very good! It's really worth the minimal effort to make the homemade crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States