Quick Cheeseburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Sorry, I thought this was pretty horrible and with a few modifications at the end, it ended up being edible (maybe a 3 star). First off, the crust was bland & had a sour flavor. The meat filling only filled up the crust HALF way - which was maybe my fault for using a deeper pie pan. I took this out of the oven & thought it looked awful so I sauteed a package of mushrooms and added on top, still there was a lot of room left - AND I was frying hashbrowns on the stovetop as a side dish so I layered them on top. That was the only thing that saved the dish. We all picked off the crust and husband asked what possessed me to make this. I just had a craving for cheeseburgers & thought it might take care of it. It kind of did...it tasted a bit like a McDonalds cheeseburger & fries. (I don't know if that is a good thing though) So next time, I will save myself the trouble and go through the drive through!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
It was pretty good, but I will modify next time. I love dill pickles, but didn't care for them in this dish. I think I will take the suggestion to add worcestershire, and maybe use Bisquick instead of pie crust. But I give it 4 stars because my picky eaters ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I have been making this same dish for over 10 years and everyone in my family loves it. Through the years I have made some changes that I feel make it even better! Instead of using dill pickles and juice, I found that bread & butter pickles gives the pie a sweeter taste that's not as salty as dills. I also make two pies at a time. I use velveeta cheese for one pie and sharp Cheddar for the other. The changes in these two ingredients completely changes the pie into something much much better than the original recipe. I hope fellow users will find this info helpful. Best of luck, and keep cooking y'all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This would be a fantastic Superbowl dish, or dish for a child's Birthday party. This was a tastey and filling recipe. No left overs! My toddler doesn't like meat and she enjoyed it. I varied the recipe a little by using Cheddar instead of Swiss, since that is what I had on hand. I would like to try it with Swiss next time. This one has my family's approval!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I really do not like pickles but this has turned out to be one of my favorite recipes on this website, nice and easy (my daughter hates pickles, but likes this too, go figure) I use the recipe for Puff Pastry from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I omitted the pickles because my family isn't a big fan and I think it effected the recipe greatly. It wasn't bad, just was pretty bland. I will try again and actually stick with the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Not bad, next time I might skip or reduce the flour added to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Yummy. Yummy. Two bites and my husband says 'very tasty'! Yes, it was! I used a pre-made crust which I unfortunately baked 10 minutes; it really shrunk... Won't do that again. I used Cheddar cause I didn't have Swiss. Was really good. Never had a White Castle but grew up near one. Pickles really make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is a really good dish that does taste a lot like a white castle hamburger. I add LOTS of extra pickles, diced tomatoes, worcestershire and I use a frozen deep dish pie crust rather than making my own, which I prebake for 10 minutes before filling. I also use Cheddar cheese rather than Swiss. My husband loves this dish and asks for it frequently. He likes it a bit more than I do. I think it's good...but more of a comfort food. My kids are split on liking this. One likes it, the other could do without it. Overall, it's a really good recipe and one I make pretty often at my husbands request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanD112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Yummy! I used a pre-made pie crust both times I've made this, but next time, I will make it from scratch as per the recipe. I also used cheddar instead of swiss. The first time I made it, I chopped up the pickes, but the second time, I used relish. We could not taste a difference, and it saved some prep time. I added a little ketchup and mustard to the meat mixture before baking. We quite enjoyed this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States