Quick Cheeseburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
WOW! For a weeknight meal, this was great! Based on mixed reviews, I wasn't expecting much, but after we ate my husband said "You'd better get on that site of yours and tell them it's a good one"! I'm not a big fan of pastry crusts, so I used reduced fat biscuits and unrolled them along the bottom of a 9" pie pan. I then par-baked it for about 9-10 minutes (firm, but not browned). While it was baking, I browned the meat/onion/garlic mixture and followed the rest of the recipe as is (w/less cheese, you don't need a full 2C). I used skim milk, extra lean ground beef, 2% cheese and it was still excellent. DON'T skip the pickle juice, that's what makes it "special". Next time I will try w/baby bella mushrooms and Swiss (oh, I used Cheddar this time because I was too lazy to shred Swiss!). BTW: 2 dill spears diced = 1/3 C. Thanks for a great weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Very good. It didn't come out the way i was expecting, but i like it better that way. This was a very filling recipe. I added bacon and tomoatoes. We didn't care for the taste of a cheesburger coupled with pie pastry. I think it would be very tasty served on a bun sloppy joe style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Interesting dish! It does taste like a hamburger, which is my husband's favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peacefulady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I followed Rhiannon's review(first review if you click the most helpful) to a certain degree. I used a pie crust. Cooked ground beef with onion and garlic. Added fresh tomatoes, 6 dill stackers-chopped, worcheshir(sp?) sauce and Cheddar cheese(1 cup and 1/2) and cooked on stove. Added beef combo to pie crust. Topped with Cheddar cheese. Yummy! I am from the Midwest(St. Louis) and it reminded me of a White Castle hamburger. The dill pickle taste was the key to the White Castle taste. Yum, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Great kids friendly recipe! The whole family loved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Washington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
There wasn't anything "quick" about this and I really didn't care for the taste. My husband and I each had a piece and probably won't finish the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I also used Cheddar instead of Swiss cheese. I did not use the pickle juice, and instead just doubled the milk. I used about 2 and a half cloves of garlic as well. For the crust, I used a roll of crescent rolls and pressed it out into the pie pan. My husband absolutely loves this recipe and wants me to make it whenever his friends come over. I also gave the recipe to my sister and her kids and husband can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Wow This was really good. After reading other reviews, I decided to go with a premade pastry shell and old Cheddar cheese instead of Swiss. I wasn't sure if I should add the pickle juice but boy am I glad I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Very rich and no one really, really, really raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
YUM!! Pickles and all, it was great!! Actually, I think it wouldn't be nearly as good without the pickles as weird as they sound! I made 2 minor changes. I used Cheddar cheese, not Swiss, which I cut into tiny cubes, for more flavor. I used about 1 1/2 cups in the pie instead of 1 cup, putting the last 1/2 cup on at the end as directed. (This I did shred.) The second thing I modified was I added a bit of garlic granuals to crust. So good. It's worth the extra effort to make it from scratch. My husband LOVED it. He said the only change he'd make would be to leave the hamburger in bigger chunkd, and maybe even BBQ them then break them up. Sounds like a good idea but even if you made as is (if you like Swiss) it would be a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States