Quick Cheeseburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Made it exactly as written except used a prepared pie crust and added diced tomatoes. I love pickles and lots of 'em on my cheeseburger, so this was perfect for my taste. My husband just said, "Wow...wow!" This will be a regular on our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Webber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I followed other reviewers suggestions and added a can of diced tomatoes. I would have used swiss cheese, but my husband doesn't like it, so I use cheddar instead. This was soooooooooooooo good, I ate 2 servings and was completely stuffed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I only give this recipe 3 stars because I chose not to follow the recipe as written. Here is what I used. Pie pastry shells instead of making a dough. I also used prepared minced garlic and dill relish (eye-balled it). No chopping pickles! The relish has liquid in it; two birds with one stone. Mixed all ingredients together. Pricked bottom pie shell numerous times with fork. Spooned mixture in placed other pastry shell on top. Crimped edges and baked until pastry was golden brown. Slices came out whole and topped with ketchup. I have to make two pies with 4 hungry kids. Turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
this is a grate recipe the only thing i do different is i don't add the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flage's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
My husband just loves this dish. I buy the pre-made frozen pie shells and pretty much prepare it per recipe subsituting whatever cheese I have on hand (cheddar/moterey jack combo works well). I don't care for the consistency of the diced pickle so I leave it out but I do use the juice per recipe. Sliced tomato baked on top is a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
we LOVED this! I wasn't especially fond of the crust though. It seemed like it needed something softer. I am thinking next time of using crescent rolls as some other reviewers have suggested. Also, this tastes exactly like a white castle burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I thought this was pretty good. the crust is extremely easy, and flaky and good. The ground beef mixture kind of reminded me of making shepard's pie, but it really does kind of end up tasting like a cheeseburger without all the extra condiments (except pickles!). I though this was fun, easy, and good. Bf seemed to enjoy as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Everyone liked this (except the girl who wouldn't try it because she doesn't like ground beef browned, only shaped as in meatballs, etc. :? :D) & I even got a "You should make this again" from a fourteen year old BOY who doesn't give compliments at all. Wahw! :D I folllowed the crust recipe, pricking the crust with a fork. What I did: 1# extra lean beef; 1/4c minced onion; 1 clove garlic, minced; 1/2t salt ... after browning those, sprinkled 1T flour & cooked for a minute; then added 1/4c DILL RELISH (drained). 'Mixed together & added 1T worcestershire; 2T ketchup, 1t mustard; & 2T DILL RELISH juice. Since there wasn't much liquid, I added 2T heavy cream (not milk, which would've been fine, too). I added one cup shredded cheddar to the mix. Put it in the crust & topped with another cup shredded cheddar & 3T bacon crumbles. After baking, I think a little squeeze of mayo on top with shredded lettuce & diced tomato would be good, too. Time savers: I'd already browned the beef & had it frozen ready to use, which may be why the pan was pretty dry - extra lean meat & I'm very thorough with draining the fat. Dill relish - already had it & not a pickle in the house! They're just the right size & who wants to cut pickles that small!?! :) Nah me! Oh, this baby no way feeds eight unless you're having plenty on the side or an appetizer/salad. 'More like six. My boy kid mentioned above had a fourth of it himself. :D Next time I may add sesame seeds to the crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
My family loves this! I get requests from 3 out of 4 of my children for this meal on a regular basis. Sometimes I make my own crust, which I thought would be daunting at first, but was suprisingly easy. Whether I make it or buy premade, I poke the bottom of the crust generously with a fork to prevent it from getting soggy. I also cover the edges of the crust in tin foil so it doesn't end up too brown. I like to decorate the top with ketchup and mustard, and my kids prefer when I use cheddar cheese. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking therapy mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This is so delicious. I used cheddar cheese instead of swiss in order to provide more resemblance between the dish and an actual cheeseburger. I also followed others' suggestions and put in some tomatoes. However, without these modifications, the pie is still very good. The ingredients all work together as if you were actually eating a cheeseburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States