Quick Cheeseburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I made this recipe last night for dinner but modified it a bit after reading the reviews. I used a Pillsbury pie crust (which I pre-baked), added steak seasoning, worstershire sauce, black pepper, red pepper flakes and a can of diced tomatoes. I thought it was pretty good, but I think the pickle flavor was too overpowering. My 15 y/o daughter said it should have been named "pickle pie" and she did not like it at all. next time I will decrease the pickle juice or omit it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I'm a vegetarian, so I used Boca Meatless ground beef instead of real beef...and it turned out great. I also cut the pastry into circles and put them in a muffin tin (the recipe made a dozen easily). I precooked the shells for 7 minutes, and cooked the "beef" for only about 5. I cooked the whole thing for only 7 minutes in the oven, and then another 2 after I put the cheese on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was easy and good, though not exceptional. Instead of making a crust, I used ready-made biscuits (liked the bun like quality as opposed to pie crust). I subbed colby/jack cheese for the swiss, added a can of tomatoes as others suggested, and added some bacon. Served topped with ketchup with fries on the side. Will make again since it was so easy and made for good leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
The majority of my family thought this was worth a 4 star rating. My six year old gave it a 5. I think I'll make some changes next time -- omit swiss cheese and substitute cheddar or colby/jack for more flavor (my 10 year old requested this change and I think she's right, swiss is overpowered by the beef mixture). I also think that instead of adding milk and flour, I'll add nacho cheese condensed soup to the beef. I left out the pickle juice and pickles since I can't imagine baked pickles (yuck), but I served them on the side. I subbed in another 1/3 cup of milk for the missing liquid. I also added some oregano, chili powder and cayenne pepper to the meat as it cooked, along with a splash of worcestershire sauce. All in all, I thought this was a nice, solid weeknight entry. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I, like many others, added a can of diced tomatoes, left out the pickles and juice, and substituted cheddar cheese for Swiss. Very good! It's really worth the minimal effort to make the homemade crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
As-is, this is just a three. I made it exactly as the recipe is written, and the pickles are overpowering, and everything else seems bland. However, with a few changes it could be a five. The second time I made this, I left out the pickles and juice all together, used shredded cheddar, and added about a cup of cubed valveta to the mix. I also drizzled ketchup on top before sprinkling on the shredded cheese. With these revisions my family asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Hagerman, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
OMG! what a awesome recipe If you are new to this wonderful site all come down here to read the reviews you will get some great ideas like adding bacon and using pillsbury pie crusts and my suggestion add more worcestershire sauce it was awesome!! my hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hocke1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Very good! I followed the recipe b/c I didn't have a chance to look at the reviews for ideas, and it still turned out great. Next time I will use a pastry shell, and use cheddar instead of swiss, or maybe pepper jack. My husband really enjoyed this too. He suggests using half pickles and half jalepenos b/c he likes it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
My family of picky guys loved this. I used refrigerated crescent rolls for the crust because I was on a time crunch and it came out perfect. There was nothing leftover and that is rare in this household when a new dish is introduced. We will definitely have this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This was so easy to make and delicious the family really loved this will be making again.I used pizza crust and put it in a pampered chef rectangular stone.Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States