Quick Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
Hi there! I submitted this recipe...it SHOULD have read that the can of tomatoes was UNDRAINED. You will need the extra moisture for the recipe to turn out properly. Sorry to those who followed the original inaccurate directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Delicious beyond reason, given the simplicity of this recipe. The only change I made was to add a teaspoon of sugar. I browned the meat and sauteed the veggies, then threw everything in the crock pot on low for a couple of hours. When we came in from a cold day outside dinner was ready and it was wonderful. This recipe will go in my box of favorites. Four years later... This recipe is still one of my top ten. My poor recipe card is covered with scribbles. Thought I'd share them with you: DOUBLE THIS! Polish sausage (kielbasa) is better than smoked. Added cooked chicken thigh meat and leftover gravy...yummy. Do NOT use soaked dried beans without cooking first till tender. Tomatoes will inhibit cooking of beans. 1 tablespoon white balsamic vinegar Doubled and used one can Ro-Tel tomatoes and one can regular...delicious Beans used so far: Kidney, cannelini, great northern, navy, black, garbanzo, lima
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CREEPER00

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This recipe was amazing! I didn't drain the tomatoes, as was recommended. I also used Great Northern instead of cannellini beans and saved a little bit of the bean juice to add to the sauce. For extra flavor I added a splash of red wine, and I used red pepper flakes instead of the thyme. Served with rice, it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akai57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This has become a standard in our house because it is tasty, hearty, filling, fast and I always have the stuff at hand. I keep some sausage in the freezer and it mostly just needs pantry items. I do doctor beyond the recipe, adding wine, broth, red pep flakes, parmesan cheese as a garnish, serve with garlic bread and a salad ... we like this okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADELINE D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This was indeed a quick recipe; I only gave it three stars because it was so quick. There's a lack of of flavor due to its quick simmering time. I added leftover ham and 1/2 cup of white wine from another poster's suggestion, and it tasted ok, but I like a cassoulet with more "depth" and complexity. For me, I will make cassoulets with a longer cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I made this dish for dinner tonight, and it was a hit! I use the undrained tomatoes, as was recommended by the original poster. I also added 1/2 cup of sauvignon blanc and 1/2 cup of chicken stock, because I wanted to have a saucier dish. I doubled the amount of sausage and used 1 teaspoon of herbs de provence instead of tyme. My husband went back for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I think this would have been better if i had remembered to drain the beans before adding them to the pot..it was a bit too thick..i also added red wine as suggested by others which gave it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
As suggested, I did not drain my tomatoes and used Great Northern Beans since I had no canellini's on hand. Great, hearty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARK_AMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
When something seems too easy, it usually is. I made this based on the high reviews, but it was bland and had no flavor. Not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
yummy and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States