Quick Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I made this during the holidays. I chose it because my grown kids and their families like recipies with garlic. They really liked it. I would use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Easy. Yummy. I have made this many, many times and throw in whatever beans or whatever tomatoes I have on hand. Try adding corn, salsa, creamed corn or jalepeno too. Serve with rice and a side salad and you have a feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
A good recipe - quick and easy! Couldn't find cannellini beans so I used Great Northern. I also used 1 lb. hot sausage, and I didn't drain the tomatoes. I omitted the thyme and only had 1 bay leaf. Could use a little more liquid, but all in all a good recipe - tastes somewhat like French Market Soup but without the day long cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Hmmm..this was okay. I ended up adding some spaghetti sauce to it because it definitely needed more liquid - should've read the reviews before I started! The celery and carrots ended up crunchy. I thought the thyme, even at a teaspoon was overpowering and the bay was a bit strong too. And I would add the whole pound of sausage if I did it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Have made this twice. Good basic time-saver recipe, but looked too dry and tasted bland, so added 1 can chicken broth, 1/2 cup dry red wine, and 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes and simmered it about 2 hours. Mashed the beans a bit before serving to thicken. Turned out tasty. We like a little more "zip" so 2nd time added same extras, but used hot links smoked sausage and omitted the red pepper flakes. Even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
Not great, and not very appetizing in appearance. Although it was easy, it filled the void, and one is likely to have these ingredients in their pantry; I think I would try to find another recipe to fill this criteria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
This recipe was ok, but not great. I didn't think the simmering time of 10 minutes was enough for the flavors to meld, so I let it simmer for about 30 minutes on a low heat. It was also a bit dry, so I added water. For others interested in trying this recipe, I would recommend using the juice in the canned tomatoes (not draining it). Overall, I probably wouldn't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Very, very good, quick and easy! I didn't toss all of the juices from the beans and tomatoes, though. Save some of the juice and add it back while simmering - this keeps the dish from becoming too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
This was quite tasty, although I would really call it a faux cassoulet. It's certainly a healthy alternative and quick and easy. I used lean turkey smoked sausage and added about a half teaspoon of herbs de provence. You also might need to add a little liquid with the beans and tomatoes if you use the turkey sausage. A great family friendly meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
Hi there! I submitted this recipe...it SHOULD have read that the can of tomatoes was UNDRAINED. You will need the extra moisture for the recipe to turn out properly. Sorry to those who followed the original inaccurate directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Quick Tuna Casserole

See how to make the quickest tuna casserole ever!

How to Make Cassoulet

A classic white bean casserole with bacon, sausage, and duck confit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States