Quick Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
yummy and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This was indeed a quick recipe; I only gave it three stars because it was so quick. There's a lack of of flavor due to its quick simmering time. I added leftover ham and 1/2 cup of white wine from another poster's suggestion, and it tasted ok, but I like a cassoulet with more "depth" and complexity. For me, I will make cassoulets with a longer cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I made this dish for dinner tonight, and it was a hit! I use the undrained tomatoes, as was recommended by the original poster. I also added 1/2 cup of sauvignon blanc and 1/2 cup of chicken stock, because I wanted to have a saucier dish. I doubled the amount of sausage and used 1 teaspoon of herbs de provence instead of tyme. My husband went back for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Used canned carrots and frozen diced onions as a timesaver. Also, used two cans of white beans instead of one white and one red. Used a whole roll of pork sausage instead of smoke sausage. Added a bit of red wine and some beef broth to further enhance the flavor. My husband loved this and said he never has had anything with his kind of flavor. Also, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Hearty, fast meal. Used 2 cans of cannellini beans and rubbed thyme (about 1/4t). I'm going to add chicken broth to the leftovers to make a thick bean soup/stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
This was pretty good. We used only the cannellini beans which are more tender than the kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Made this for a campout and it was a big success. Noticed another reviewer had said it was bland so used Italian seasoned tomotoes as well as Italian sausage and it turned out great. Next time, though, will up the amount of sausage, otherwise it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Have made this a few times for the whole family and they love it, even the kids. I have substituted low sodium tomatoes to cut back on the salt. The lack of juice does certainly not affect the flavor as there is plenty of moisture in the vegetables as they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This recipe was amazing! I didn't drain the tomatoes, as was recommended. I also used Great Northern instead of cannellini beans and saved a little bit of the bean juice to add to the sauce. For extra flavor I added a splash of red wine, and I used red pepper flakes instead of the thyme. Served with rice, it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akai57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is a good recipe for a potluck or a family meal. The ingredients are inexpensive,it is easy to fix and everyone likes the way it tastes! I serve it with real crunchy garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Quick Tuna Casserole

See how to make the quickest tuna casserole ever!

How to Make Cassoulet

A classic white bean casserole with bacon, sausage, and duck confit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States