Quick Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I thought this was really flavorful. I added a little beef broth and cornstarch to thicken it up a bit. I also let it simmer for about 1/2 hour because I don't think bay leaves have time to infuse their flavor in only 10 minutes. Very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I also added the sauce from the tomatoes, some chicken broth, and some red pepper flakes, and it came out very well. If anything, I probably would've liked it even more had it been saltier. It was pretty good overall, though, served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Amazing. Simply wonderful. You must try this recipe! I admit I tinkered a bit with it. If I may (with all due respect to a brilliant recipe): 1) I don't drain the tomatoes. 2) I replace ALL the herbs and spices (including salt) with Herb D'Provence. 3) I use andouille sausage. I also have a serving suggestion: spoon it over a piece of Italian bread, and top with grated Parmesan (the Parmesan helps cool the spice of the andouille.) So. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Awesome recipe! I tweaked it a bit. Used only 1 can of undrained chilli beans and did not drain the tomatoes. I also added some beef broth and red cooking wine.I cooked it all day in my slow cooker. Served it over rice. The best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Halved the recipe for meat and beans but left the original amount of the other stuff. Added a tablespoon of creole seasoning too. Served over cous cous. The family loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Very tasty, and easy to make. I did simmer it for much longer than called for in order to soften the carrots, so next time I will budget more cooking time. I could not get cannellini beans and substituted navy beans, which were fine. A nice hearty recipe for a winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Quick, easy, and something a little different. This has become my husband's new favorite meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
My husband and I were a little surprised at the combination of ingrediants-things we wouldnt normally mix together. But YUMMY! I served over rice, he ate it every meal until it was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
My husband and I were disappointed in this recipe. It was okay, but nothing to brag about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This recipe was delicious! I used smoked turkey sausage, navy beans instead of the cannellini beans, just used what I had on hand. The navy beans are the only changes I made. My family really liked this, I liked the ease of it! This would be a great 'cold winter night' meal as well as a camping meal. There is lots of room in this for additions, be creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States