Quick Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Delicious! I added a little zip (some crushed red pepper), but other than that I did exactly as the recipe stated and it came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was good, not great. It was nice to have something different but no one was interested in eating the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was yummy and different. It was still great- even though I forgot bay leaves and garlic. We served it w/ potato and onion perogies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Wonderful flavor with a few changes I made just to enhance things! First, I doubled the carrots, celery and sausage (turkey smoked). Also threw in a zucchini I needed to use. I added ~1/8 c. of red wine, ~1/4 c. vegetable broth and sprinkled in red pepper flakes, cumin, and oregano. I also doubled the thyme and used 3 bay leaves. I made it this morning thinking I would have to wait many hours for the flavors to develop, but with those additions that won't be necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This was a great recipe guide for a great camper's stew. I used ground turkey instead and served it over elbow macaroni. I added more beans to this recipe as well. Excellent quick and easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabletop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Daleville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This recipe is so good when you want to feed alot of people as it lends itself easily to doubling (or more!). We used a vegetarian "Spicy Italian" sausage and it worked like a charm. We did a Mother's day potluck and my husband took care of the cooking. This is a good recipe to start your kids cooking in the kitchen as well. It is simple, quick and full of so much flavour. This is definately a keeper in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This was yummy! I put in three cans of beans not two (added in pinto), used kielbasa sausage, and let it cook for longer than called for to make more stew-like. I also added in some dry rose wine when cooking. Very filling and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Dee. Lish. Us. Used a full pound of sausage and navy beans in place of cannelini. Used a can of stewed tomatos, plus the juice, and only one bay leaf. Just browned the sausage and veggies together, didn't need to use any oil. Then added the rest, plus 1C water and 1/2C uncooked white rice. Let all simmer together until rice was cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
A traditional cassoulet has several kinds of meats, usually pork sausage, pork, duck, goose, sometimes lamb. Anyway, I put in some sliced kielbasa, 3 slices of cooked bacon (crumbled), and some cubed ham. Also used all white beans, some red wine and some chicken broth, and cooked significantly longer than recommended. Quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Delicious beyond reason, given the simplicity of this recipe. The only change I made was to add a teaspoon of sugar. I browned the meat and sauteed the veggies, then threw everything in the crock pot on low for a couple of hours. When we came in from a cold day outside dinner was ready and it was wonderful. This recipe will go in my box of favorites. Four years later... This recipe is still one of my top ten. My poor recipe card is covered with scribbles. Thought I'd share them with you: DOUBLE THIS! Polish sausage (kielbasa) is better than smoked. Added cooked chicken thigh meat and leftover gravy...yummy. Do NOT use soaked dried beans without cooking first till tender. Tomatoes will inhibit cooking of beans. 1 tablespoon white balsamic vinegar Doubled and used one can Ro-Tel tomatoes and one can regular...delicious Beans used so far: Kidney, cannelini, great northern, navy, black, garbanzo, lima
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CREEPER00

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Quick Tuna Casserole

See how to make the quickest tuna casserole ever!

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States