Quick Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This is a great quick recipe, especially on a cold rainy day. The only things that I changed were to add a little chicken bullion and red wine for more depth of flavor and simmered it longer(about 30 minutes) to thicken it up a bit. Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I am not a big fan of beans, but my four-year-old daughter is, so I am always seeking new bean recipes for her. This was a hit the first time, the second time, and every time since. I have made some changes every time (mostly to use ingredients I had on hand). Our favorite? I had bacon that needed to be used so I cooked that and then sauteed the veg in the drippings. The cooked bacon then got crumbled on top before serving. Less healthy? Maybe. Delicious? Definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This has become a family favorite of ours. I use shredded chicken instead of sausage and add a little water towards the end to make it a little more saucy. And I usually serve it over some white rice. Simply delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I brown the sausage before anything else. This is a wonderful and healthy recipe -- makes great leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Awesome shortcut. Even without draining the tomatoes mine needed more liquid, so I added chicken stock until the mixture was just covered (~1.5 cups). Subbing a leek for the onion felt authentic. Sour cream would be a nice touch, or red pepper flakes if your sausage isn't spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe is amazingly quick and easy. Tastes almost as good as the cassoulet that my boyfriend makes (and spends hours making)(and yes, he loves this one, too - he was actually surprised at how good it tastes considering minimal time investment).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
My husband and I loved this! I did not drain the tomatoes either and added some chicken stock. I used turkey smoked sausage. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Great quick cassoulet. I didnt use kidney beans though and it turned out much like a long cooked, 4 hour version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I made this recipe while camping. It was awesome!!! Instead of plain tomatoes, I used tomatoes mixed with green chili peppers (you know, the Mexican version). OMG, out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Important tip: Extend the cooker time - let this simmer for half an hour. ***And*** if there are beans that were dried and soaked overnight ... then cook for an extra half-hour or they're crunchy :( This dish failed for me and we had to go to the neighbourhood pub .... We put it in the slow cooker the next day on Low for 4 hours and it vastly improved so the beans weren't crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Quick Tuna Casserole

See how to make the quickest tuna casserole ever!

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States