Quick Cassoulet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I made it using 2 Trader Joe's Andouille chicken sausage links. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was just what I was looking for. I loved the taste of a cassoulet I had and wanted to replicate it in an easy recipe. With a few minor adjustments, this recipe was perfect for our family. I doubled the recipe and added a can of beef broth, 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, 1 tsp sugar, few slices of bacon and even threw in 2 baby food jars of sweet potatoes. All of this went in my crockpot and simmered all day so that we had an amazing stew to come home to. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
We really liked this simple meal and I cannot wait to try it camping as bestrachan suggested. I bet it would be even better over a fire. I served it with a green salad and bread I toasted with butter and garlic. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I doubled the recipe because I had a lb. of smoked sausage. I didn't drain the tomatoes and I added some chicken broth and a 1/4 C of red wine. I added a dash of red pepper flakes, chopped bell peppers and I used parsnips instead of carrots because I didn't have any. I simmered it for at least an hour and served over brown rice with a salad and french bread. This was wonderful especially on a cold winter night. Very easy to prepare and I will definitely make again especially because it is made with ingredients that I usually have on hand. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Excellent! I made these substitutions: stewed tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregano instead of diced; 2 cans navy beans for other types of beans; crushed red pepper instead of thyme; added cooking wine. I loved it! Hubby (weirdo) and son ("too spicy" -- he's only 3) weren't as thrilled, but who cares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Good Recipe. I would make again. I used 2 can northern beans. Also added a few dashes of cloves, some Worcestershire sauce and used homemade salsa instead of tomatoes. Added 1 1/2 tsp brown sugar. 1 diced large potato added depth to "sauce".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
If I make this again, I will take the suggestions of adding stock and wine. Otherwise, it really is pretty good--Just doesn't knock your socks off or anything like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This is pretty good, but it definitely needs more liquid--probably triple the called for amount. I also couldn't really taste the tomatoes, so I'd probably prefer 2 more cans of tomatoes. I had to add about a cup more of liquid. Also, this takes a lot longer than 10 minutes at a simmer--more like 1/2 hour. Good, but does need some adjustments. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I thought this was going to have more flavor. I let it cook for a few hours hoping the flavor would develop. I used garlic chicken sausage instead of smoked sausage and I did add some cubed pork to it too. I used all white kidney beans. I used the can of tomatoes with its juice and felt it needed more liquid, probably because of the added pork. So I added a can of chicken broth. To boost the flavor I added some red pepper flakes and I dumped in a splash of red wine, it was better after that. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Delicious! I added a little zip (some crushed red pepper), but other than that I did exactly as the recipe stated and it came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Quick Cassoulet

In this video, you’ll see how to make cassoulet in just an hour.

Quick Tuna Casserole

See how to make the quickest tuna casserole ever!

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States