Quick Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Excellent recipe. I have made it without the cocoa but added ground cinnamon and mixed fruit and a little extre vanilla extract. this recipe makes 12 full size or 24 mini muffins too!! My egg and diary intollerant 3 year old loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I listened to one of the reviewers about the cake being too sweet and added only about 2/3 cup sugar. As a result, the cake ended up having a definite soda aftertaste. Next time will use full cup. ***I have made these one more time now, and have decreased my rating to 3 stars because there is still a soda aftertaste (even though I doused the soda with the vinegar directly). It is not worth making unless you are truly short of ingredients or allergic. Otherwise stick to a recipe that includes eggs and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very easy and makes just the right size if you aren't feeding a lot of people. I used a combo of 1-1/4 cups flour and 1/4 cup cornstarch to replace pastry flour because I didn't have any pastry flour. I also made a frosting of about 2 cups powdered sugar/1/4 cup cocoa and about 2 to 4 tablespoons vanilla soy milk. Made the for a lactose intolerant 4 year old who thought it was fabulous. And he is honest and picky! The texture isn't like a regular cake though so be prepared for a slightly more "dense" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This cake worked out REALLY WELL. A nice and simple recipie, although i think the "you can mix it in the pan" statement is debatable. I ended up transferring it to a mixing bowl half way through...not that that was a problem, it really doesn't make it any harder. However, i do have a few handy tips. Not to say that it needs improving - more about subsitution. First of all, I used olive oil. I know! might seem a little icky...but it really works quite well. The nutty flavour suits the cake well, and the more savoury flavours are easily covered by the sugar and cocoa. Also, if you can't find 'pastry flour' or whatever, mix a couple of tablespoons of cornflour (cornstartch) with 1.5 cups of plain (all-purpose) flour. I did this becuase i couldn't find 'pastry flour' (in Australia). GOOD RECIPIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWilliamTheBloody

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Delicious cake. Even my sister who doesn't like chocolate gobbled this cake down. This cake never lasts more than two days at my house. I didn't change the recipe at all. It is great just the way the it is. I bake it in a silicone baking pan. Works great! Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
this was great. was so easy. my daughter helped me mix the ingredients. Turned out great. Was a little skeptical about using the vinegar. However, the final product had absolutely no smell or taste of vinegar. Once again, great recipe and soooooo quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This cake is good for those times when, once in a blue moon, you have a serious cake craving and don't have many of the standard cake ingredients on hand. When it first comes out of the oven and is still warm, it's delicious. You almost can't tell it's at all different from a "normal" cake. Then it cools...and develops an odd texture. While, like I said, it's a good recipe in a pinch, I hope I don't ever fall into the situation again where I'd turn to this recipe, and I certainly would never bake it to serve to other people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
GREAT DAIRY FREE CAKE!! The best part is you can lick the bowl without having to worry about salmonella:) Very moist and yummy. Makes about 14 cupcakes. Cook at 350 for 20 minutes for cupcakes. Don't fill the cupcake to the top or they will fall in the middle. Leave a little more than 1/4 of an inch of space from the top. QUICK and EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I just loved this cake! It is sooo easy, quick to make, sooo moist and fluffy and delicious! I was worried It might stick to the ungreased pan, but it didn't! And I was also worried about the vinegar taste, but there was none! The easiest cake I've ever made. Doesn't need any icing or glaze or anything. Delicious as is. The only reason I gave it 4 stars, is that my husband did not like it at all for some weird reason:(...Anyway, I thought it was great! thanks so much for the recipe...update: I have made this cake many times now, but substituting either lemon juice or sour cream for the vinegar(equal amount). It turned out even better than the first time, and even my hubby had no more complaints about it! I don't ever use vinegar anymore. Perfect! love this recipe, and kids love to make it with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
How easy was that???? I did take advice from other feedback and substitue some wholemeal flour in the recipe. I also used part white and part brown sugar. My 18 month old LOVED it and my 30 something husband did as well. This one definitely goes in the recipe book!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States