Quick Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This cake is delicious. I also substituted pastry flour with regular flour plus some corn syrup. We had no cocoa powder so I added some hot chocolate mix (may need a bit more than suggested). I also added cinnamon. It was really moist and delicious!!! And very fast and easy too. It did need to cook longer than the recipe calls for but as long as you're keeping an eye on it, it should be fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Surprisingly delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I liked the texture, not too light, not too dense, but I found the flavor to be bland, even with frosting, I like my chocolate cakes to be rich and sickeningly sweet. I'm sure with some adjustments I could make it more to my taste while still a no egg no milk cake, but as-is I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissNic

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Sherihan
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Chocolaty, moist and delicious (oh and lets not forget LOW FAT!!), i cant even believe that there is no eggs or milk!!! and wow was it very fast indeed to prepare, i drizeled it with white melted chocolate and sprinkled some dark chocolate shavings on top.FANCY!!! gonna make it again and again for sure and maybe next time add some chopped up nuts in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherihan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
A wonderful cake as is. I was sceptical about the vinegar but I made it as is and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was simular to the taste of brownies. Very good, quick and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
this could have used a little more chocolatey-ness but it was nice and moist and cheap to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
A great cake for vegans, an okay cake for the rest of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Fanther

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I left out the cocoa powder, the cake came out nice and fluffy but a little too crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Easy cake to make even after dinner for a late dessert....and yes, wonderful when it's warm with ice cream. Actually I think this is the only way to eat this cake. Great for people watching their cholesterol levels, (no eggs/milk) I also used Splenda instead of sugar and low fat ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States