Quick Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Delicious cake. Even my sister who doesn't like chocolate gobbled this cake down. This cake never lasts more than two days at my house. I didn't change the recipe at all. It is great just the way the it is. I bake it in a silicone baking pan. Works great! Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
this was great. was so easy. my daughter helped me mix the ingredients. Turned out great. Was a little skeptical about using the vinegar. However, the final product had absolutely no smell or taste of vinegar. Once again, great recipe and soooooo quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This cake is good for those times when, once in a blue moon, you have a serious cake craving and don't have many of the standard cake ingredients on hand. When it first comes out of the oven and is still warm, it's delicious. You almost can't tell it's at all different from a "normal" cake. Then it cools...and develops an odd texture. While, like I said, it's a good recipe in a pinch, I hope I don't ever fall into the situation again where I'd turn to this recipe, and I certainly would never bake it to serve to other people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
GREAT DAIRY FREE CAKE!! The best part is you can lick the bowl without having to worry about salmonella:) Very moist and yummy. Makes about 14 cupcakes. Cook at 350 for 20 minutes for cupcakes. Don't fill the cupcake to the top or they will fall in the middle. Leave a little more than 1/4 of an inch of space from the top. QUICK and EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I just loved this cake! It is sooo easy, quick to make, sooo moist and fluffy and delicious! I was worried It might stick to the ungreased pan, but it didn't! And I was also worried about the vinegar taste, but there was none! The easiest cake I've ever made. Doesn't need any icing or glaze or anything. Delicious as is. The only reason I gave it 4 stars, is that my husband did not like it at all for some weird reason:(...Anyway, I thought it was great! thanks so much for the recipe...update: I have made this cake many times now, but substituting either lemon juice or sour cream for the vinegar(equal amount). It turned out even better than the first time, and even my hubby had no more complaints about it! I don't ever use vinegar anymore. Perfect! love this recipe, and kids love to make it with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
How easy was that???? I did take advice from other feedback and substitue some wholemeal flour in the recipe. I also used part white and part brown sugar. My 18 month old LOVED it and my 30 something husband did as well. This one definitely goes in the recipe book!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
this is the easiest recipe I've used for a cake, used it a lot when I was working Tanzania (Africa) and was great because of my lack of a fridge to store milk, eggs, etc! The recipe I use is slightly different as there is no baking powder used. I always make a chocolate sauce to go on top, and almost always end up serving the cake warm from the oven with the sauce spooned over top. Yummm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
This cake tasted STRONGLY of vinegar, as well as smelling of it. No one who tried it liked it or ate more than a bite of it. I don't know if the vinegar could be omitted. It might be worth a try, or use a different recipe altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Asolutely great cake and so simple to make! I added a frozen banana "ice cream" on the side, but it is delicious on it's own too. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Fastest easiest cake that I have ever made and least messiest for clean up!!!! I used whole wheat flour and it tasted just great. However, I would probably use less sugar as it was a little bit too (not too much) sweet for my taste. This could be due to the fact that I used Hot Chocolate powder instead of cocoa powder. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States