Quick Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Sherihan
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Chocolaty, moist and delicious (oh and lets not forget LOW FAT!!), i cant even believe that there is no eggs or milk!!! and wow was it very fast indeed to prepare, i drizeled it with white melted chocolate and sprinkled some dark chocolate shavings on top.FANCY!!! gonna make it again and again for sure and maybe next time add some chopped up nuts in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherihan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
A wonderful cake as is. I was sceptical about the vinegar but I made it as is and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was simular to the taste of brownies. Very good, quick and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
this could have used a little more chocolatey-ness but it was nice and moist and cheap to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
A great cake for vegans, an okay cake for the rest of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Fanther

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I left out the cocoa powder, the cake came out nice and fluffy but a little too crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Easy cake to make even after dinner for a late dessert....and yes, wonderful when it's warm with ice cream. Actually I think this is the only way to eat this cake. Great for people watching their cholesterol levels, (no eggs/milk) I also used Splenda instead of sugar and low fat ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Excellent recipe. I have made it without the cocoa but added ground cinnamon and mixed fruit and a little extre vanilla extract. this recipe makes 12 full size or 24 mini muffins too!! My egg and diary intollerant 3 year old loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I listened to one of the reviewers about the cake being too sweet and added only about 2/3 cup sugar. As a result, the cake ended up having a definite soda aftertaste. Next time will use full cup. ***I have made these one more time now, and have decreased my rating to 3 stars because there is still a soda aftertaste (even though I doused the soda with the vinegar directly). It is not worth making unless you are truly short of ingredients or allergic. Otherwise stick to a recipe that includes eggs and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very easy and makes just the right size if you aren't feeding a lot of people. I used a combo of 1-1/4 cups flour and 1/4 cup cornstarch to replace pastry flour because I didn't have any pastry flour. I also made a frosting of about 2 cups powdered sugar/1/4 cup cocoa and about 2 to 4 tablespoons vanilla soy milk. Made the for a lactose intolerant 4 year old who thought it was fabulous. And he is honest and picky! The texture isn't like a regular cake though so be prepared for a slightly more "dense" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States