Quick Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was definitely the easiest cake ever, (though like another reviewer, I found it much easier to mix up in a bowl than in the pan). It tastes good served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, and is great for a last-minute weeknight dessert for my family. I was thrilled to find a cake recipe that doesn't use butter or eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
FANTASTIC! I used this recipe to make a low fat, low sugar cake. Followed the recipe exactly with these low fat alternatives: substitute sugar with splenda and substitute vegetable oil with no sugar added applesauce. Nutrition Info for cake this way is approximately 130 calories and 3 grams of fat per slice. Cake made 8 slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
A very good cake. I didn't make it in the same pan I baked it in, but it still only dirtied one dish! I was nervous about all the vinegar, but it turned out to be unnoticeable. It was very moist. It was good on it's own, but great with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream. The one thing that messed up was my own fault. I didn't sift the flour and ended up with bubbles of it in the cake. It was a good cake and I'll make it again, but it almost seemed like it was missing something. Maybe I'll add chocolate-chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
The only reason why it's getting 2 stars instead of one is because this could be a goos way to get some chocolate into you if you are a vegan with a cake craving, other than that, I found this cake to taste bland and almost "store bought". I got the same disappointing sensation I get after eating those fake, processed, cardboard tasting chocolate prepackaged snacks...I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as it appears. Extremely delicious and extremely moist!!! You won't miss the eggs or milk in this recipe!! I sprinkled confectioners sugar over the top to finish off the cake. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Not enough chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
My husband wanted cake and I had very few supplies and time...this cake was a SMASH hit!! I did change it a little I used applesauce in place of the oil which changed the consistency a little...but it was very moist and almost gooey. Also just used all purpose flour bc it was all I had. Also adding the apple sauce made the cake fat free which you would never guess after tasting it!!!! This will definitely be a new "go to" recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This was great! Much better than I expected. I made cupcakes, just used self-raising flour as I didn't really know what pastry flour was. And I doubled the cocoa powder (cos I like things really chocolatey!) Warm out of the oven they were good, but a day or two later they were fantastic, they took on a soft, almost gooey consistency like brownies. Everyone liked them, no-one guessed at the unusual ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmsparkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poole, Dorset, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
It was a really easy and good tasting cake. It was also very moist. A tip from me would be to put it in a dish with milk and fresh strawberries! (Yum) Jason
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sauk Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
A quick, easy, and delicious cake that can be prepared at a moment's notice. Turns out very, very moist and tasty. For even more chocolate flavor, try adding mini chocolate chips. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States