Quick Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
The only reason why it's getting 2 stars instead of one is because this could be a goos way to get some chocolate into you if you are a vegan with a cake craving, other than that, I found this cake to taste bland and almost "store bought". I got the same disappointing sensation I get after eating those fake, processed, cardboard tasting chocolate prepackaged snacks...I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as it appears. Extremely delicious and extremely moist!!! You won't miss the eggs or milk in this recipe!! I sprinkled confectioners sugar over the top to finish off the cake. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Not enough chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
My husband wanted cake and I had very few supplies and time...this cake was a SMASH hit!! I did change it a little I used applesauce in place of the oil which changed the consistency a little...but it was very moist and almost gooey. Also just used all purpose flour bc it was all I had. Also adding the apple sauce made the cake fat free which you would never guess after tasting it!!!! This will definitely be a new "go to" recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This was great! Much better than I expected. I made cupcakes, just used self-raising flour as I didn't really know what pastry flour was. And I doubled the cocoa powder (cos I like things really chocolatey!) Warm out of the oven they were good, but a day or two later they were fantastic, they took on a soft, almost gooey consistency like brownies. Everyone liked them, no-one guessed at the unusual ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmsparkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poole, Dorset, England, U.K.
Living In: Southampton, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
It was a really easy and good tasting cake. It was also very moist. A tip from me would be to put it in a dish with milk and fresh strawberries! (Yum) Jason
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sauk Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
A quick, easy, and delicious cake that can be prepared at a moment's notice. Turns out very, very moist and tasty. For even more chocolate flavor, try adding mini chocolate chips. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This cake is delicious. I also substituted pastry flour with regular flour plus some corn syrup. We had no cocoa powder so I added some hot chocolate mix (may need a bit more than suggested). I also added cinnamon. It was really moist and delicious!!! And very fast and easy too. It did need to cook longer than the recipe calls for but as long as you're keeping an eye on it, it should be fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Surprisingly delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I liked the texture, not too light, not too dense, but I found the flavor to be bland, even with frosting, I like my chocolate cakes to be rich and sickeningly sweet. I'm sure with some adjustments I could make it more to my taste while still a no egg no milk cake, but as-is I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissNic

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States