Quick Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Great Recipe. Perfect with black coffee! Helps me remember things ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I've made this cake three times in about 10 days. Quick cake is the perfect name. It's also low cost, with ingredients that I always have in my kitchen. A great go-to cake when the chocolate craving hits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Doubled the recipe and made it for a crowd. I reduced the sugar a bit and used 1/3 wheat flour, and 2/3 white flour. It was quite easy, turned out very well and best of all, everyone loved it! I did go ahead and make a thin frosting, which I think added that extra special touch. (Cocoa Frosting recipe: In a saucepan, melt 1/2 C butter and mix 1/3 C milk & 1/4 C cocoa powder till well blended. Add 1 tsp. vanilla extract and 2 - 3 C powdered sugar and mix well. Pour onto hot cake that's just been removed from the oven. Will make a good amount of frosting for an 8" sq. cake. Delicious!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Awesome. Light, moist and crazy easy... I would add to it if I was to make it again, as was a bit plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
My hubby says, what can you make real quick, he was thinking cookies, but with no butter at room temp, that was not going to be quick. So, I whipped this up. It's really moist, and flavorful. The only thing that I would different would be to mix this in a bowl and not in the square pan as it was difficult to get it properly mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiearnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Came home from dinner on the town and just HAD to have something quick and chocolate. We were devouring this in way less than an hour after I'd located the recipe! Did a partial Splenda substitution and used Hershey's dark cocoa powder. Oh, yes, and while the cake was baking, I whipped up some chocolate frosting. I would definitely recommend this one for a quick chocolate fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
If you want a bit of chocolate cake in a hurry, this works well. Very easy! Sometimes I add a tsp of cinnamon, and that's nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
exactly what I needed to make up 3 small cakes! I cut the recipe in third and it came out perfectly. I didn't have cocoa powder so I used a heaping tablespoon of nutella. The cakes came out so light and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolekrystyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We make this recipe all the time in our household for birthdays, just needing something sweet in the house and for my kids that can't have milk and eggs. It's always been a winner and we call it WACKY CAKE! The only difference with this recipe is that we don't use pastry flour we just use all purpose flour (2c), half the sugar and add more cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I didn't really like this cake. And neither did my husband. Guests seemed as though they enjoyed it but I could taste the acid far too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States