Quick Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
This has got to be one of the best cakes I have ever eaten. Take it out of the oven and while it is still warm serve it with vanilla icecream, wow. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Albia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
i made this cke when i was in highschool.we called it a bachelor cake. i keep on losing my recipe until now .thanks for having it in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
GREAT DAIRY FREE CAKE!! The best part is you can lick the bowl without having to worry about salmonella:) Very moist and yummy. Makes about 14 cupcakes. Cook at 350 for 20 minutes for cupcakes. Don't fill the cupcake to the top or they will fall in the middle. Leave a little more than 1/4 of an inch of space from the top. QUICK and EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
this is the easiest recipe I've used for a cake, used it a lot when I was working Tanzania (Africa) and was great because of my lack of a fridge to store milk, eggs, etc! The recipe I use is slightly different as there is no baking powder used. I always make a chocolate sauce to go on top, and almost always end up serving the cake warm from the oven with the sauce spooned over top. Yummm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
How easy was that???? I did take advice from other feedback and substitue some wholemeal flour in the recipe. I also used part white and part brown sugar. My 18 month old LOVED it and my 30 something husband did as well. This one definitely goes in the recipe book!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
this was great. was so easy. my daughter helped me mix the ingredients. Turned out great. Was a little skeptical about using the vinegar. However, the final product had absolutely no smell or taste of vinegar. Once again, great recipe and soooooo quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Fastest easiest cake that I have ever made and least messiest for clean up!!!! I used whole wheat flour and it tasted just great. However, I would probably use less sugar as it was a little bit too (not too much) sweet for my taste. This could be due to the fact that I used Hot Chocolate powder instead of cocoa powder. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Very easy and quick to make. Moist and tasty. It is a good recipe for kids to learn how to bake. My three year old thought it was fun to mix everything into the pan with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Asolutely great cake and so simple to make! I added a frozen banana "ice cream" on the side, but it is delicious on it's own too. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Delicious cake. Even my sister who doesn't like chocolate gobbled this cake down. This cake never lasts more than two days at my house. I didn't change the recipe at all. It is great just the way the it is. I bake it in a silicone baking pan. Works great! Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States