Quick Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This cake worked out REALLY WELL. A nice and simple recipie, although i think the "you can mix it in the pan" statement is debatable. I ended up transferring it to a mixing bowl half way through...not that that was a problem, it really doesn't make it any harder. However, i do have a few handy tips. Not to say that it needs improving - more about subsitution. First of all, I used olive oil. I know! might seem a little icky...but it really works quite well. The nutty flavour suits the cake well, and the more savoury flavours are easily covered by the sugar and cocoa. Also, if you can't find 'pastry flour' or whatever, mix a couple of tablespoons of cornflour (cornstartch) with 1.5 cups of plain (all-purpose) flour. I did this becuase i couldn't find 'pastry flour' (in Australia). GOOD RECIPIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWilliamTheBloody

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I just loved this cake! It is sooo easy, quick to make, sooo moist and fluffy and delicious! I was worried It might stick to the ungreased pan, but it didn't! And I was also worried about the vinegar taste, but there was none! The easiest cake I've ever made. Doesn't need any icing or glaze or anything. Delicious as is. The only reason I gave it 4 stars, is that my husband did not like it at all for some weird reason:(...Anyway, I thought it was great! thanks so much for the recipe...update: I have made this cake many times now, but substituting either lemon juice or sour cream for the vinegar(equal amount). It turned out even better than the first time, and even my hubby had no more complaints about it! I don't ever use vinegar anymore. Perfect! love this recipe, and kids love to make it with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
This has got to be one of the best cakes I have ever eaten. Take it out of the oven and while it is still warm serve it with vanilla icecream, wow. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Albia, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
GREAT DAIRY FREE CAKE!! The best part is you can lick the bowl without having to worry about salmonella:) Very moist and yummy. Makes about 14 cupcakes. Cook at 350 for 20 minutes for cupcakes. Don't fill the cupcake to the top or they will fall in the middle. Leave a little more than 1/4 of an inch of space from the top. QUICK and EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
How easy was that???? I did take advice from other feedback and substitue some wholemeal flour in the recipe. I also used part white and part brown sugar. My 18 month old LOVED it and my 30 something husband did as well. This one definitely goes in the recipe book!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Fastest easiest cake that I have ever made and least messiest for clean up!!!! I used whole wheat flour and it tasted just great. However, I would probably use less sugar as it was a little bit too (not too much) sweet for my taste. This could be due to the fact that I used Hot Chocolate powder instead of cocoa powder. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Easy cake to make even after dinner for a late dessert....and yes, wonderful when it's warm with ice cream. Actually I think this is the only way to eat this cake. Great for people watching their cholesterol levels, (no eggs/milk) I also used Splenda instead of sugar and low fat ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
this is the easiest recipe I've used for a cake, used it a lot when I was working Tanzania (Africa) and was great because of my lack of a fridge to store milk, eggs, etc! The recipe I use is slightly different as there is no baking powder used. I always make a chocolate sauce to go on top, and almost always end up serving the cake warm from the oven with the sauce spooned over top. Yummm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Very easy and quick to make. Moist and tasty. It is a good recipe for kids to learn how to bake. My three year old thought it was fun to mix everything into the pan with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
i made this cke when i was in highschool.we called it a bachelor cake. i keep on losing my recipe until now .thanks for having it in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States