Quick Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We make this recipe all the time in our household for birthdays, just needing something sweet in the house and for my kids that can't have milk and eggs. It's always been a winner and we call it WACKY CAKE! The only difference with this recipe is that we don't use pastry flour we just use all purpose flour (2c), half the sugar and add more cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I didn't really like this cake. And neither did my husband. Guests seemed as though they enjoyed it but I could taste the acid far too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
It was quick & easy to make, but not very tasty. There was little chocolate flavor and the texture was a little off. As my husband said "It tastes like it's sugar-free or something trying to be healthy". My 11 year-old took one bite and would not eat any more. I guess if eggless/milkless is important, you could learn to like it. Otherwise, I'll pass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I used whole wheat pastry flour because that's all I had. I accidently used 1/3 cup vinegar instead of 1/4 cup. I mixed it in the cake pan with no problems. The cake came out sunken in the middle. The flavor was only mildly chocolate. I think the Better Homes & Gardens chocolate snack cake recipe is WAY better and only slightly more work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
For ease of preparation and simplicity of ingredients - this is a top recipe. I added a handful of choc chips, just for added texture. The taste is a bit weird, though. I wouldn't try it other than the recommended 'served warm with ice cream'. Will be repeated when next in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Good, moist cake. Easier to mix well in a bowl first. I thought I had mixed it well in the pan but found lumps and a goey texture on the bottom when we were eating it. We enjoyed the bubbling action from the baking powder and vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was definitely the easiest cake ever, (though like another reviewer, I found it much easier to mix up in a bowl than in the pan). It tastes good served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, and is great for a last-minute weeknight dessert for my family. I was thrilled to find a cake recipe that doesn't use butter or eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
FANTASTIC! I used this recipe to make a low fat, low sugar cake. Followed the recipe exactly with these low fat alternatives: substitute sugar with splenda and substitute vegetable oil with no sugar added applesauce. Nutrition Info for cake this way is approximately 130 calories and 3 grams of fat per slice. Cake made 8 slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
A very good cake. I didn't make it in the same pan I baked it in, but it still only dirtied one dish! I was nervous about all the vinegar, but it turned out to be unnoticeable. It was very moist. It was good on it's own, but great with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream. The one thing that messed up was my own fault. I didn't sift the flour and ended up with bubbles of it in the cake. It was a good cake and I'll make it again, but it almost seemed like it was missing something. Maybe I'll add chocolate-chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
The only reason why it's getting 2 stars instead of one is because this could be a goos way to get some chocolate into you if you are a vegan with a cake craving, other than that, I found this cake to taste bland and almost "store bought". I got the same disappointing sensation I get after eating those fake, processed, cardboard tasting chocolate prepackaged snacks...I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States