Quick Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Made this recipe 3 times now!!! Delicious and EASY.... Makes about 16 cupcakes and doubled it for more than enough 9x13 cake pan. So easy and delicious. I did ice it with homemade chocolate frosting for my mega chocolate lover for his birthday!!! 1st time it sunk in the middle--after checking my baking soda and powder I determined it was from over mixing. Best if make a well, mix till JUST mixed together then get it in the over right away so the chemical reaction takes place in the oven creating air inside the cake... YUM!! I also added a handful of chocolate chips for all of them... everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is the second time I have made this cake, and it is fantastic. I have it all mixed up, and stuff put away before the oven is even pre heated. My kinda cake- easy and tasty! Moist and flavorful. Love love love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Great Recipe. Perfect with black coffee! Helps me remember things ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I've made this cake three times in about 10 days. Quick cake is the perfect name. It's also low cost, with ingredients that I always have in my kitchen. A great go-to cake when the chocolate craving hits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Doubled the recipe and made it for a crowd. I reduced the sugar a bit and used 1/3 wheat flour, and 2/3 white flour. It was quite easy, turned out very well and best of all, everyone loved it! I did go ahead and make a thin frosting, which I think added that extra special touch. (Cocoa Frosting recipe: In a saucepan, melt 1/2 C butter and mix 1/3 C milk & 1/4 C cocoa powder till well blended. Add 1 tsp. vanilla extract and 2 - 3 C powdered sugar and mix well. Pour onto hot cake that's just been removed from the oven. Will make a good amount of frosting for an 8" sq. cake. Delicious!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Awesome. Light, moist and crazy easy... I would add to it if I was to make it again, as was a bit plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
My hubby says, what can you make real quick, he was thinking cookies, but with no butter at room temp, that was not going to be quick. So, I whipped this up. It's really moist, and flavorful. The only thing that I would different would be to mix this in a bowl and not in the square pan as it was difficult to get it properly mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiearnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Came home from dinner on the town and just HAD to have something quick and chocolate. We were devouring this in way less than an hour after I'd located the recipe! Did a partial Splenda substitution and used Hershey's dark cocoa powder. Oh, yes, and while the cake was baking, I whipped up some chocolate frosting. I would definitely recommend this one for a quick chocolate fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
If you want a bit of chocolate cake in a hurry, this works well. Very easy! Sometimes I add a tsp of cinnamon, and that's nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilentStarlight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
exactly what I needed to make up 3 small cakes! I cut the recipe in third and it came out perfectly. I didn't have cocoa powder so I used a heaping tablespoon of nutella. The cakes came out so light and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolekrystyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States