Quick Brussels and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
We use the bacon grease w/ the olive (or coconut oil we had on hand) and then saute brussels sprouts. Very good & will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARNZ01
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Just a short note from the author that in my original submission there was no olive oil. Just use a small amount of the bacon grease and also add salt and pepper to taste. Thanks for trying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodieGeek
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This did turn out pretty tasty, although I did change it up a bit. I halved the bacon, and I just used the bacon grease instead of the olive oil. I also added a clove of garlic....Honestly, I can't cook without it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I enjoy this recipe, however... I ended up making a few changes to make it spectacular. The second time around I used a pat of butter, chicken broth and a clove of garlic minced. Even people that don't like Brussel sprouts loved it. Caramelizing the brussel sprouts changes the flavor slightly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was delicious! My family didn't think they liked brussel sprouts, but these were a hit at Christmas Eve dinner. I did make one addition to the recipe. I added a bit of brown sugar to them. I knew the kids would like them better that way and they were very good. I didn't use a lot, just a bit for a subtle sweetness. Thanks for a great recipe that I will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Getzville, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Any vegetable cooked with bacon already has great potential in my book. I used fresh Brussels sprouts, added minced garlic, and cooked them only until crisp-tender, not browned. Loved the flavor as well as the vibrant color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
We're big brussel sprout eaters and this was a nice change. Added a few seasonings, but used fresh sprouts which I steamed first. Delicious and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
We absolutely loved this recipe for brussels. Did not change a thing and everyone said they did not like brussels but they all wanted the recipe for them before leaving the house. Thank you for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Very quick and tasty way to prepare brussels. Will make again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I love sprouts in general, but stir fried is a favorite in our house. This was a tasty recipe. Rather than cook the sprouts before hand, I added them raw to the bacon and added a little chicken stock. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States