Quick Brussels and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Yum! I am the only one that really enjoys brussel sprouts but everyone tried these and said they would eat them again. I loved them! I used fresh sprouts and just steamed them for a few minutes before putting them in the pan. I skipped the olive oil and just used a small amount of the bacon drippings. I also added salt and pepper to taste and cooked these until they were nicely caramelized. Delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Frozen Brussels sprouts need a little help and this is a quick and tasty way to do it. I followed the recipe's author's suggestion and just used the bacon fat instead of adding olive oil. Just be careful not to neglect them if you've got several things going at once...there's a fine line between browned and burnt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I thought these were a very tasty way of serving brussel sprouts. Who doesn't like bacon in anything? I used fresh sprouts. They usually come in a 10 oz. tub. I used 2 shallots (plenty) and 4 pieces of bacon. I boiled the sprouts before putting in the pan of bacon grease (no I did not use a second pan with olive oil). It was enough for four servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I love sprouts in general, but stir fried is a favorite in our house. This was a tasty recipe. Rather than cook the sprouts before hand, I added them raw to the bacon and added a little chicken stock. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Very quick and tasty way to prepare brussels. Will make again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This was SOOOOO good! I used 8 slices of bacon instead, and also used 1 red onion instead. Also, I used the tiny frozen brussels- found that they have a bit of extra sweetness and tenderness which balanced out well with the bacon and onion. This has become a favorite side dish of my family... and now my daughters will finally eat brussel sprouts. Kudos!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunlevy, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
YuM!!! i suggest doing what the recipe submitter said in her review *two down* and using the bacon grease the onions and sprouts in. We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I enjoy this recipe, however... I ended up making a few changes to make it spectacular. The second time around I used a pat of butter, chicken broth and a clove of garlic minced. Even people that don't like Brussel sprouts loved it. Caramelizing the brussel sprouts changes the flavor slightly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARNZ01
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Just a short note from the author that in my original submission there was no olive oil. Just use a small amount of the bacon grease and also add salt and pepper to taste. Thanks for trying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Very yummy. Little dry the next day, but still tasty. Already have made it a few times. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States