Quick Brussels and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I'd never had brussel sprouts in my life, and this seemed like a good way to start. I followed many of the comments: steamed fresh brussel sprouts for about five minutes, then let them cool and cut them in half. I cooked the bacon, then sauteed fresh garlic and shallots in the bacon grease. They burned almost immediately, so I threw them out and started over in the remaining grease before adding the brussel sprouts and bacon back in. I cooked them longer than 7 - 10 minutes, though. I'll try it again, but I think I'll cook them a bit longer at a lower temperature, so I get more of the bacon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande2994

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I use fresh brussel sprouts, steamed first and then sauteed with everything else. My kids normally turn their noses up at brussel sprouts, but they really do like them prepared this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
These are so good! If I am lazy I chop the bacon before cooking and when the bacon is almost done I throw in the shallots (or onion) until tender and then add the brussels. I do not drain the bacon grease. Sometimes I serve the brussels with shredded parm and drizzled balsamic vinegar. YUM! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Even my picky eaters LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Make this all the time. I also add mushrooms, spinach and minced garlic to my version. We actually crave this dish in my family!!! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Didn't have any shallots/onions on hand, but sauteed the fresh brussels I picked up for the same amount of time and DEVOURED them! SO yummy, will definitely be adding to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I've been looking new vegetables to add in my rotation. These were pretty good. I skipped the olive oil and used just a dash of the bacon grease. I also used regular onion and I added a clove of minced garlic. This was a very good cooking method; the brussels turned out soft, flavorful, and not bitter at all. I think next time I may totally skip the bacon and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
We use the bacon grease w/ the olive (or coconut oil we had on hand) and then saute brussels sprouts. Very good & will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
absolutely fabulous! personally i love brussel sprouts so it was no stretch to think i would love these as well :) i nixed the onion (i didn't plan ahead & didn't have any!), added one minced clove of garlic & used the bacon grease instead of oil. i will most definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllisMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States