Quick Brussels and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
These are so good! If I am lazy I chop the bacon before cooking and when the bacon is almost done I throw in the shallots (or onion) until tender and then add the brussels. I do not drain the bacon grease. Sometimes I serve the brussels with shredded parm and drizzled balsamic vinegar. YUM! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Even my picky eaters LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Make this all the time. I also add mushrooms, spinach and minced garlic to my version. We actually crave this dish in my family!!! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Didn't have any shallots/onions on hand, but sauteed the fresh brussels I picked up for the same amount of time and DEVOURED them! SO yummy, will definitely be adding to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I've been looking new vegetables to add in my rotation. These were pretty good. I skipped the olive oil and used just a dash of the bacon grease. I also used regular onion and I added a clove of minced garlic. This was a very good cooking method; the brussels turned out soft, flavorful, and not bitter at all. I think next time I may totally skip the bacon and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
We use the bacon grease w/ the olive (or coconut oil we had on hand) and then saute brussels sprouts. Very good & will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
absolutely fabulous! personally i love brussel sprouts so it was no stretch to think i would love these as well :) i nixed the onion (i didn't plan ahead & didn't have any!), added one minced clove of garlic & used the bacon grease instead of oil. i will most definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllisMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I think these are delicious. I have made them 2 times in the past month. I have used fresh and frozen brussels and I definitely like the texture from the fresh. They tend to hold their cruch and form better than the frozen. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was so good I wanted to slap myself. Cooked em' in the bacon grease, added minced garlic, some brown sugar at the end, a little dill and a splash of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States